Artist file


Jules Spinatsch * 1964 in Davos, lives in Zurich

Jules Spinatsch has already shown his first panoramic work at the Centre de la photographie Genève in 2003. Temporary Discomfort – Chapter IV PULVER GUT was a view of snow-covered Davos, packed with fences, gates and all sorts of anti-riot devices, during a ten-day period. By hacking the webcams that were supposed to display skiing conditions, the photographer succeeded in showing how an alpine village can turn into a high-security place under siege. Since then, Jules Spinatsch has appli [...]

Jules Spinatsch has already shown his first panoramic work at the Centre de la photographie Genève in 2003. Temporary Discomfort – Chapter IV PULVER GUT was a view of snow-covered Davos, packed with fences, gates and all sorts of anti-riot devices, during a ten-day period. By hacking the webcams that were supposed to display skiing conditions, the photographer succeeded in showing how an alpine village can turn into a high-security place under siege. Since then, Jules Spinatsch has applied his system of methodical scanning of a given place to other situations, whether during a qualification football game for the World Cup 2006 between Switzerland and France, or the meeting of Toulouse city council on 30th June 2006. The artist’s practice is double-edged indeed. While we are fascinated by the huge amount of information available to us, including the tiniest details that can be seen in large-scale blow-ups – such as the hand-written message left on a deputy’s desk, which gave the work its title Fabre n’est pas venu (Fabre didn’t turn up), the technique that Spinatsch uses can also turn into a fearsome, all-controlling weapon. There is a fine line between the panorama and the Panopticum.

Jules Spinatsch is known for his framing method, employing first a webcam, then an SLR camera. He sets the timing of the shots and the field covered by the camera, sometimes covering 360°. The CPG was the first institution to show his Semiautomatic Photography in 2003. That body of work was subsequently displayed at some of the leading museums and biennial exhibits, from the MoMA in New York to the Tate Modern in London, by way of the Fotomuseum Winterthur and the Kunsthaus Zürich.The CPG showed a retrospective of these pieces in 2018–2019 and has just published a book under the same title. Super Meta Eclat consists again of semiautomatic photography, but without the panoramic aspect.The camera here was pointed at a volcanically erupting hot spring in Iceland. This showing in OSMOSCOSMOSis a first, while also representing the CPG's sixth collaboration with the artist. The video projection of this work creates a permanent flow of impressions that become superimposed, oscillating between abstraction and representation with a meditative effect.

10 collaborations took place until today between Jules Spinatsch and CPG.

 

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Jules Spinatsch * 1964 à Davos, vit à Zurich

Jules Spinatsch a montré en 2003 au Centre de la photographie Genève son tout premier travail panoramique, Temporary discomfort – Chapter IV PULVER GUT. Il s’agissait d’une vue de Davos enneigé, truffé de barrières et d’autres architectures anti-émeutes, prise dans un laps de temps de 10 jours. Détournant les Web-cam censées transmettre l’état des pistes de ski, le photographe avait réussi à nous montrer comment un village alpin peut se transformer en un lieu de haute s [...]

Jules Spinatsch a montré en 2003 au Centre de la photographie Genève son tout premier travail panoramique, Temporary discomfort – Chapter IV PULVER GUT. Il s’agissait d’une vue de Davos enneigé, truffé de barrières et d’autres architectures anti-émeutes, prise dans un laps de temps de 10 jours. Détournant les Web-cam censées transmettre l’état des pistes de ski, le photographe avait réussi à nous montrer comment un village alpin peut se transformer en un lieu de haute sécurité assiégé. Depuis, Jules Spinatsch a appliqué son système de balayage méthodique d’un espace donné par une caméra électronique à d’autres situations, que ce soit lors du match de qualification pour le Mondial 2006, opposant la Suisse à la France ou encore la séance du Conseil municipal du 30 juin 2006 à Toulouse. La démarche de l’artiste est bien à double tranchant. Si nous sommes fascinés par cette énorme quantité d’information qui se déploie devant nous, jusqu’aux détails les plus infimes perçus dans les agrandissements à grande échelle – exemple le petit billet écrit à la main, traînant sur le bureau d’un des députés et donnant le titre à l’œuvre, « Fabre n’est pas venu » – la technique employée par Jules Spinatsch peut aussi se transformer en une redoutable arme du tout contrôle. Il n’y a qu’un pas du panorama au Panopticum.

Jules Spinatsch est connu pour ses prises de vue, développées avec une webcam, puis avec une caméra SLR. L’artiste définit le moment de la prise de vue et le champ couvert par la caméra, qui s’étend parfois sur 360°. Le CPG a été la première institution à montrer sa Semiautomatic Photography en 2003. Ce corpus a été présenté ensuite dans les musées et biennales les plus importants, du MoMA à New York à la Tate Modern de Londres, en passant par le Fotomuseum Winterthur et le Kunsthaus Zürich. Le CPG a présenté une rétrospective de ces travaux en 2018-2019 et vient d’éditer le livre éponyme. Super Meta Eclat est aussi de la photographie semi-automatique, mais sans panorama. L’appareil a été dirigé vers une source chaude en Islande qui dégage des éruptions de par son activité volcanique. Sa présentation dans OSMOSCOSMOS est une première, mais c’est la sixième collaboration avec l’artiste. La projection vidéo de ce corpus provoque un flux permanent d’impressions qui se superposent, oscillant entre abstraction et représentation avec un effet méditatif.

10 collaborations ont eu lieu jusqu'à aujourd'hui entre Jules Spinatsch et le CPG.

En relation