About

Address
Centre de la Photographie Genève
Bâtiment d’Art Contemporain
28, rue des Bains
CH – 1205 Genève
T: + 41 22 329 28 35
Email: cpg@centrephotogeneve.ch

Access
Publics transportation
Bus 1 — stop at Ecole-de-Médecine
Tram 13 / 15 — stop at Place du Cirque
Tram 12 — stop at Rond-Point de Plainpalais
Public parking : Plainpalais

Schedule
Tuesday – Sunday
11:00 – 18:00

Fees
Normal 5 CHF
Reduced 3 CHF
AVS, AI, students, apprentices, artists, Card “20 ans/20 francs” and groups of 10
Free
Under 18 years old; Members of the Centre of Photography Geneva, the Amamco, the Centre of Contemporary Art; specialized students (photography, art history, fine arts, decorative arts) and journalists.
Free the first Sunday of the month.

History

The Centre de la photographie Genève (CPG) is a research laboratory into new forms of presenting and thinking about the photography of today in an institutional setting.

The CPG was founded by 11 Genevan photographers in 1984 to champion photography as one of the fine arts. Today, now that the historical avant-gardes and the new avant-gardes have taken up photography and it has become an integral part of contemporary art, the focus has shifted. In the course of the last 20 years, major work relating to historical context and theory has been carried out with regard to all photographic practices, putting vernacular photography at the forefront. With the standardisation of photography driven by digital technology, the functioning of our consumer societies is no longer conceivable without it. It is this new situation that makes a place for thought devoted specifically to photography necessary.

Since 2001 the CPG has therefore been developing an interest in all kinds of means of producing, disseminating and presenting photography while at the same time increasing its number of lectures, colloquiums and publications. This new stance has been developed with the “documentary style” and “Visual Culture” as its main themes, in constant dialogue with the other arts.

Every year the CPG stages an average of four to seven solo or thematic exhibitions, as well as one or two extramural ones. Since 2007 it has published between two and four books a year with its own publishing house, Éditions Centre de la photographie Genève, and since 2014 the books have been distributed by Les presses du réel.

The CPG has organised the 50JPG (50 Jours pour la photographie à Genève) photography triennial since 2003, in collaboration with over 30 museums, art centres, galleries, libraries and fringe venues in Geneva and the surrounding area. Since 2007 when it moved into the Bâtiment d’art contemporain (BAC) where the Musée d’art moderne et contemporain (Mamco) and the Centre d’art Contemporain are also located, the CPG has been the third protagonist in the contemporary art scene in Geneva.


Team
Director : Joerg Bader
Administrative director : Alexandra Theiler
Exhibition coordinator : Natalia Reichert
Administrative assistant : Marc Wiget
Technical manager : Vanessa Bianchini

Association Committee
Charles Pictet, president
Barbara Bulc, secretary
Christian Joschke, treasurer

Imprint
Art Direction : NASK
Development : Fragment.in

À propos

Adresse
Centre de la photographie Genève
Bâtiment d’Art Contemporain
28, rue des Bains
CH – 1205 Genève
T: + 41 22 329 28 35
Email: cpg@centrephotogeneve.ch

Accès
Transports publics
Bus 1 — arrêt Ecole-de-Médecine
Tram 13 / 15 — arrêt Place du Cirque
Tram 12 — arrêt Rond-Point de Plainpalais
Parking public : Plainpalais

Horaires
Mardi – Dimanche
11:00 – 18:00

Tarifs
Normal 5 CHF
Réduit 3 CHF
AVS, AI, étudiants, apprentis, artistes, Carte 20 ans/20 francs et groupes dès 10 personnes
Gratuit
Moins de 18 ans; membres du Centre de la photographie Genève, de l’Amamco, du Centre d’Art Contemporain; étudiants spécialisés (photographie, histoire de l’art, beaux-arts, arts décoratifs) et journalistes
Gratuit le premier dimanche du mois.

Historique

Le Centre de la photographie Genève (CPG) est un laboratoire de recherche de nouvelles formes pour présenter et penser la photographie d’aujourd’hui dans un cadre institutionnel.

Le CPG a été fondé en 1984 par 11 photographes genevois pour la défense de la photographie comme l’un des beaux-arts. Aujourd’hui, après que les avant-gardes historiques et les néo-avant-gardes se sont emparées de la photographie et qu’elle est une partie intégrante de l’art contemporain, la question s’est déplacée. Durant les vingt dernières années, un important travail d’historisation et de théorisation a été fait sur toutes les pratiques photographiques, mettant la photographie vernaculaire au-devant de la scène. Avec la massification de la prise de vue sous l’impulsion du digital, le fonctionnement de nos sociétés marchandes n’est plus pensable sans la photographie. C’est cette nouvelle donne qui nécessite un lieu de réflexion spécialement dédié à la photographie.

Ainsi le CPG a développé depuis 2001 un intérêt pour toutes sortes de modes de production, de diffusion et de présentation de la photographie tout en multipliant les conférences, colloques et publications. Cette nouvelle position s’est développée avec comme fil conducteur le « style documentaire » et la « Visual Culture » en échange constant avec les autres arts.

Chaque année le CPG présente en moyenne 4 à 7 expositions, monographiques ou thématiques, plus une ou deux expositions hors-les-murs. Depuis 2007, il publie en moyenne deux à quatre livres, avec sa propre maison d’édition, les Éditions Centre de la photographie Genève, qui sont distribuées depuis 2014 par Les presses du réel.

Depuis 2003, le CPG organise la triennale de photographie 50JPG (50 Jours pour la photographie à Genève) en collaboration avec plus de 30 musées, centres d’art, galeries, bibliothèques et lieux off à Genève et dans sa région. Le CPG est, depuis son installation en 2007 au Bâtiment d’art contemporain (BAC) où se trouvent aussi le Musée d’art moderne et contemporain (Mamco) et le Centre d’art Contemporain, le troisième acteur sur la scène de l’art contemporain à Genève.


Équipe
Directeur : Joerg Bader
Directrice administrative : Alexandra Theiler
Coordination des projets : Natalia Reichert
Assistant administratif : Marc Wiget
Responsable technique : Vanessa Bianchini

Comité de l’association
Charles Pictet, président
Barbara Bulc, secrétaire
Christian Joschke, trésorier

Impressum
Art Direction : NASK
Development : Fragment.in