CAMÉRA(AUTO)CONTRÔLE

01.06 — 31.07.2016

The exhibition Caméra(Auto)Contrôle is the core of the 50JPG—50 Days for Photography in Geneva 2016. It takes us right into the burning issue of drones and all other monitoring systems that use photo and video cameras. We can indeed “celebrate” a quarter of century of the monitoring of public space by automated cameras worldwide. These cameras quite often bear a sticker with a smiley asking those being recorded, whether in a car park, at a supermarket check-out, or on public transport, to smile.

A number of artists, hackers and political activists have refused to smile, instead appropriating these surveillance devices momentarily. Their actions have remained isolated, because never before has a grassroot movement fought against the increasingly invasive presence of depersonalised cameras in public spaces. It has also been a quarter of a century in which street photographers, both amateur and professional, have met with hostility, or even aggression from citizens, the same citizens [...]

A number of artists, hackers and political activists have refused to smile, instead appropriating these surveillance devices momentarily. Their actions have remained isolated, because never before has a grassroot movement fought against the increasingly invasive presence of depersonalised cameras in public spaces. It has also been a quarter of a century in which street photographers, both amateur and professional, have met with hostility, or even aggression from citizens, the same citizens who submissively accept being recorded 24 hours a day, wherever they may be. This schizophrenic attitude might be interpreted as an internalisation of the passive acceptance of one’s image being monitored by unknown agents. The master stroke of this internalisation might well be the Selfie, where the citizen willingly smiles in front of his smartphone and shares this image of himself on social networks, and, in doing so, subjects himself to the most obvious social monitoring.

Here we are in the era of “happy-selfexploitation” observed by philosopher Byung- Chul Han, who suggests that cognitive capitalism has brought about a paradigm shift. He replaces Michel Foucault’s bio-politics with the concept of psycho-politics, in which we, the “users”, participate with our own consent, not to say enthusiasm, in our own exploitation, by giving our images and other personal informations willingly to the giants of the Internet. Our informations is what forms their capital.

 


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

Exhibition view

Related content

CAMÉRA(AUTO)CONTRÔLE

01.06 — 31.07.2016

L’exposition Caméra(Auto)Contrôle forme le noyau dur de l’édition 2016 de la triennale des 50JPG – 50 Jours pour la photographie à Genève. Elle nous plonge dans l’actualité brûlante des drones et autres systèmes de contrôle exercés par des caméras photo ou vidéo. Nous pourrions en effet « célébrer » dans le monde entier un quart de siècle de contrôle de l’espace public par les caméras automatiques. Très souvent, elles portent un sticker avec un smiley demandant aux personnes enregistrées, que ce soit au parking, à la caisse du supermarché, ou dans les transports publics, de sourire.

 

Certains artistes, hackers et militants politiques ont refusé de sourire, tout en détournant momentanément ces dispositifs de surveillance. Leurs actions sont restées isolées, car jamais un mouvement citoyen n’a lutté contre la présence de plus en plus grande des caméras dépersonnalisées dans les lieux publics. Cela fait aussi un quart de siècle que des photographes de rue (street photography), amateurs et professionnels confondus, se font de plus en plus interpeller, voire agre [...]

Certains artistes, hackers et militants politiques ont refusé de sourire, tout en détournant momentanément ces dispositifs de surveillance. Leurs actions sont restées isolées, car jamais un mouvement citoyen n’a lutté contre la présence de plus en plus grande des caméras dépersonnalisées dans les lieux publics. Cela fait aussi un quart de siècle que des photographes de rue (street photography), amateurs et professionnels confondus, se font de plus en plus interpeller, voire agresser par des citoyens, ceux-là mêmes qui acceptent docilement leur enregistrement 24/24h, où qu’ils soient. Cette attitude schizophrénique pourrait être interprétée comme une intériorisation de l’acceptation passive du contrôle de leur image par des agents non identifiés. L’accomplissement de cette intériorisation pourrait être le Selfie, où le citoyen sourit à volonté à l’objectif de son smartphone pour diffuser son autoreprésentation sur les réseaux sociaux, se soumettant au contrôle social le plus évident.

Nous voici arrivés dans la « happy-selfexploitation » qu’observe le philosophe Byung- Chul Han, qui avance que le capitalisme cognitif entraîne un changement de paradigme. Il remplace la bio-politique de Michel Foucault par le concept de psycho-politique, où nous, les « users », participons avec notre consentement, voire enthousiasme, à notre propre exploitation en donnant à volonté nos images et autres informations nous concernant aux géants de l’Internet. Nos informations forment leur capital.


Soutiens

Avec le généreux soutien de(s) partenaire(s) suivant(s)

Vue d'exposition

En relation