The Improbability Laws / CPG Contributions to the Geneva Heritage

24.06 — 02.08.2020

In collaboration with the Contemporary Art Funds of the Geneva City (FMAC) and the Geneva Republic and canton (FCAC)

With The Improbability Laws / The CPG Contributions to the Geneva Heritage , The Centre de la Photographie Genève (CPG), presents for the first time artists works exposed as world premiere at the CPG, whose joined then the collections of contemporary art of the Geneva City and of the Geneva Republic and canton.

The CPG gives a prestigious impulsion to the Geneva heritage in terms of artistic photography, independently of both collections selection criterion or purchase com [...]

With The Improbability Laws / The CPG Contributions to the Geneva Heritage , The Centre de la Photographie Genève (CPG), presents for the first time artists works exposed as world premiere at the CPG, whose joined then the collections of contemporary art of the Geneva City and of the Geneva Republic and canton.

The CPG gives a prestigious impulsion to the Geneva heritage in terms of artistic photography, independently of both collections selection criterion or purchase commissions whose are democratically renewed every four years. A relevant criteria - not the only one - for the purchase commissions is the relation between the artist and Geneva. From this exhibition emerges the fact that the Geneva artistic scene is richer and more diversified than usually understood.

Furthermore, due to lack of space, conservatory technics and budget, the CPG can't store photos. Due to the regular collaborations, the contemporary art fund of the Geneva City (FMAC) and the contemporary art fund of the Geneva Republic and canton (FCAC) are also the memory of the CPG activities. Many exposed works take benefits from a production patronage by these funds. These patronage are precious assets for the CPG.

Multiple trajectories inspired the exhibition title : The Improbability Laws.


Exhibition view

Related content

Les Lois de l’Improbabilité / Les Contributions du CPG au Patrimoine Genevois

24.06 — 02.08.2020

En collaboration avec les Fonds d’art contemporain de la Ville de Genève (FMAC) et de la République et canton de Genève (FCAC)

Avec Les lois de l’improbabilité / Les contributions du CPG au patrimoine genevois , le Centre de la photographie Genève (CPG), présente pour la première fois des œuvres d’artistes exposées d’abord au CPG, puis intégrées aux collections d’art contemporain de la Ville de Genève et celles de la République et du Canton de Genève.

Le CPG constitue une impulsion importante au patrimoine genevois en matière de la photographie artistique, indépendamment du fait [...]

Avec Les lois de l’improbabilité / Les contributions du CPG au patrimoine genevois , le Centre de la photographie Genève (CPG), présente pour la première fois des œuvres d’artistes exposées d’abord au CPG, puis intégrées aux collections d’art contemporain de la Ville de Genève et celles de la République et du Canton de Genève.

Le CPG constitue une impulsion importante au patrimoine genevois en matière de la photographie artistique, indépendamment du fait que les critères des deux collections sont différentes, tout comme les commissions d’achat, qui en général sont renouvelées tous les quatre ans de façon démocratique. Il va de soi qu’un important critère - mais pas le seul - pour les commissions d’achat est la relation que l’artiste entretient avec Genève. L’exposition fait émerger le fait que la scène artistique genevoise est bien plus riche et diverse qu’habituellement admise.

De plus, et pour des raisons d’espace, de technique de conservation et de budget, le CPG n’a pas la possibilité de stocker des photographies. Les collaborations régulières avec le Fonds d’art contemporain de la Ville de Genève (FMAC) et le Fonds d’art contemporain de la République et du Canton de Genève (FCAC) sont en ce sens aussi une mémoire de l’activité du CPG. Beaucoup de travaux exposés ont pu profiter d’une aide à la production des deux fonds, ce qui est un apport très précieux pour le CPG.

Ce sont ces multiples trajectoires qui ont inspirés le titre de la présente exposition : Les lois de l’improbabilité.


Vue d'exposition

En relation