Aurélien Gamboni & Sandrine Teixido
A Tale as a Tool

07.09 — 17.09.2017

Since 2011, Aurelien Gamboni and Sandrine Teixido have been using Edgar Allan Poe’s novel A Descent into the Maelström (1841), as a tool of research about adaptation stories to environmental risks. They have collected testimonies from southern Brazil in northern Norway, right down to the very places in Poe’s history, to explore the past and future resonances of this story.

Vernissage: 06.09.2017 18:00

06.09.17 from 6.00 pm : Vernissage opening

09.09.17 from 2.00 pm to 2.30 pm : Guided tour

09.09.17 from 3.00 pm to 5.00 pm : “Research feedback” , Presentation of the new developments of the research in Niterói (Brazil), followed by a round table with artists / researchers Claire Duport (Marseille), Sylvain Gouraud (Paris), Yves Mettler And Axel Meunier (Paris)

13.09.17 from 7.30 pm to 9.00 pm : “Updating the Maelstrom”, a literary interpretation workshop proposed by Yves Citton (professor of literature and theorist, Grenoble / Paris)

14.09.17 from 5.00 pm to 6.30 pm : “The maelström as a cosmogramme “, conversation with John Tresch (historian of science, specialist of Edgar Allan Poe, Philadelphia)

16.09.17 from 3.00 pm to 5.00 pm : «Re-scripting the maelstrom», eco-feminist writing workshop with Emilie Hache (philosopher, Paris)

17.9. à 15h00 : reading of the novel “A descent into the maelström” d’Edgar Allan Poe by Gene Ray (theorician, author of many essays on the sublime, terror and the crisis of the biosphere, Athens / Zurich)

Other meetings and events will be organized within the framework of the exhibition, in collaboration with * DUUU. The full program will be regularly updated on www.centrephotogeneve.ch and www.ataleasatool.com

www.ataleasatool.com
www.duuuradio.fr

This project receives a grant from the Geneva Arts Society, the Loterie Romande, and the support of the City of Geneva and the Republic and Canton of Geneva.

 

Aurélien Gamboni / Sandrine Teixido /

Whether it is the floods that have deeply affected the city of Porto Alegre since the 1940s, current controversies over the development of the petroleum industry in the Norwegian Arctic, or the recent drama of a deadly slump of terrain in a favela of Rio de Janeiro' s region, the research reveals a multitude of responses to the emergence of new environmental risks, in a variety of people's testimony.

What are the signs of the changes to come? How can we be prepared (intellectually, [...]

Whether it is the floods that have deeply affected the city of Porto Alegre since the 1940s, current controversies over the development of the petroleum industry in the Norwegian Arctic, or the recent drama of a deadly slump of terrain in a favela of Rio de Janeiro' s region, the research reveals a multitude of responses to the emergence of new environmental risks, in a variety of people's testimony.

What are the signs of the changes to come? How can we be prepared (intellectually, emotionally, politically) to face what is happening?

Taking a foothold on several continents, the survey has already given rise to two series of performances at the Théâtre de l'Usine in Geneva (MALSTRØM 68N part 1 and 2) in 2014 and 2015, as well as participation in several collective exhibitions such as (2011), the 9th Mercosul Biennale in Porto Alegre (2013), and La bête et l'adversité (The Beast and the Adversity) at the Le Commun in Geneva (2015).

A Tale as a Tool is an itinerant assembly of investigative narratives, in the form of an installation designed to accommodate various public situations. After the Museum of Contemporary Art in Niterói and the G-MK Gallery in Zagreb, the maelstrom is now located in the GTC with a new program of lectures, lectures and debates. Researchers as Yves Citton, Emilie Hache and John Tresch will participate to these events, in collaboration with the webradio collective * DUUU.


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

Exhibition view

Related content

Aurélien Gamboni & Sandrine Teixido
A Tale as a Tool

07.09 — 17.09.2017

Depuis 2011, Aurélien Gamboni et Sandrine Teixido se servent de la nouvelle d’Edgar Allan Poe, A Descent into the Maelström (1841), comme d’un outil de pensée pour interroger les récits d’adaptation aux risques environnementaux. Ils ont collecté des témoignages du sud du Brésil au nord de la Norvège, jusque sur les lieux mêmes de l’histoire de Poe, pour explorer les résonances passées et futures de ce récit.

Vernissage: 06.09.2017 18:00

06.09.17 dès 18h00 : Vernissage

09.09.17 de 14h00 à 14h30 : Visite commentée

09.09.17 de 15h00 à 17h00 : « Retour d’enquêtes », présentation des nouveaux développements de l’enquête à Niterói (Brésil), suivie d’une table ronde avec les artistes/chercheurs Claire Duport (Marseille), Sylvain Gouraud (Paris), Yves Mettler (Berlin) et Axel Meunier (Paris)

13.09.17 de 19h30 à 21h : « Actualiser le maelström », atelier d’interprétation littéraire proposé par Yves Citton (professeur de littérature et théoricien, Grenoble/Paris)

14.09.17 de 17h à 18h30 : « Le maelström comme cosmogramme », conversation avec John Tresch (historien des sciences, spécialiste d’Edgar Allan Poe, Philadelphie)

16.09.17 de 15h à 17h : « Re-scénariser le maelström », atelier d’écriture éco-féministe avec Emilie Hache (philosophe, Paris)

17.9. à 15h00 : lecture de la nouvelle “A descent into the maelström” d’Edgar Allan Poe par Gene Ray (théoricien, auteur de nombreux essais sur le sublime, la terreur et la crise de la biosphère, Athènes/Zurich)

D’autres rencontres et événements seront organisés dans le cadre de l’exposition, en collaboration avec *DUUU. Le programme complet sera régulièrement actualisé sur www.centrephotogeneve.ch et www.ataleasatool.com

Entrée gratuite.

www.ataleasatool.com
www.duuuradio.fr

Ce projet bénéficie d’une Bourse de la Société des Arts de Genève, ainsi que du soutien de la Ville de Genève, de la République et Canton de Genève et de la Loterie Romande

Aurélien Gamboni / Sandrine Teixido /

Qu’il s’agisse des inondations qui ont profondément marqué la ville de Porto Alegre depuis les années 1940, des controverses actuelles sur le développement de l’industrie pétrolière dans l’Arctique norvégien, ou du drame récent d’un affaissement de terrain meurtrier dans une favela de la région de Rio de Janeiro, l’enquête laisse entrevoir une multitude de réponses face à l’émergence de nouveaux risques environnementaux, telles qu’elles se manifestent [...]

Qu’il s’agisse des inondations qui ont profondément marqué la ville de Porto Alegre depuis les années 1940, des controverses actuelles sur le développement de l’industrie pétrolière dans l’Arctique norvégien, ou du drame récent d’un affaissement de terrain meurtrier dans une favela de la région de Rio de Janeiro, l’enquête laisse entrevoir une multitude de réponses face à l’émergence de nouveaux risques environnementaux, telles qu’elles se manifestent dans les récits des personnes rencontrées.

Quels sont les signes des changements à venir ? Comment s’équiper (intellectuellement, émotionnellement, politiquement) pour faire face à ce qui advient ?

Prenant pied sur plusieurs continents, l’enquête a déjà donné lieu à deux séries de performances au Théâtre de l’Usine à Genève (MALSTRØM 68N partie 1 et 2) en 2014 et 2015, ainsi qu’à des participations à plusieurs expositions collectives telles que celle du festival Les Urbaines à Lausanne (2011), la 9e Biennale du Mercosul à Porto Alegre (2013), ou encore La bête et l’adversité à l’espace Le Commun à Genève (2015).

A tale as a tool se présente comme une assemblée itinérante de récits d’enquête, sous la forme d’une installation destinée à accueillir diverses situations publiques. Après le musée d’art contemporain de Niterói et la galerie G-MK de Zagreb, le maelström prend désormais ses quartiers au CPG avec un nouveau programme de lectures, conférences et débats. Des penseurs comme Yves Citton, Emilie Hache et John Tresch participeront à ces événements, en collaboration avec le collectif de webradio *DUUU.


Soutiens

Avec le généreux soutien de(s) partenaire(s) suivant(s)

Vue d'exposition

En relation