Efrat Shvily
THE JERUSALEM EXPERIENCE

02.06 — 20.08.2017

In her new work, “The Jerusalem Experience,” Efrat Shvily, in collaboration with Oren Myers, is looking at ways in which historic Jerusalem is being made into an “experience” with the help of advanced technology, for the benefit of its visitors but no less so for the benefit of political, religious, and commercial forces.

A project in collaboration with Efrat Shvily and Oren Myers

Co-produced by Camera Austria.

Curated by Reinhard Braun and Joerg Bader

Opening on Thursday 1st June from 18:00

Saturday June 3 at 14:30

Public talk with Efrat Shvily, Marie-José Mondzain & Joerg Bader.

Thursday June 22 from 18:30 to 20:30
Cinéma Dynamo – Centre d’art contemporain
Screening of Yael Bartana’s film “INFERNO” (22 min.), in relation to her solo exhibition in Musée Cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne (exhibition until August 20 in Lausanne)

The viewers of the show will get a taste of the Jerusalem “experience” as filmed and photographed in both Jerusalem, Israel, and in São Paulo, Brazil, where the Universal Church of the Kingdom of God (UCKG) last year inaugurated the monumental Third Temple of Solomon, built according to “biblical” proportions. Assaulted by a barrage of image and sound, the viewers will be challenged to tell the old Jerusalem from the new, the real from the fake, and the literal from the metaphorical.

The viewers of the show will get a taste of the Jerusalem “experience” as filmed and photographed in both Jerusalem, Israel, and in São Paulo, Brazil, where the Universal Church of the Kingdom of God (UCKG) last year inaugurated the monumental Third Temple of Solomon, built according to “biblical” proportions. Assaulted by a barrage of image and sound, the viewers will be challenged to tell the old Jerusalem from the new, the real from the fake, and the literal from the metaphorical.


Artist file

Efrat Shvily * 1955 in Jerusalem, lives in Jerusalem

The viewers of the show will get a taste of the Jerusalem “experience” as filmed and photographed in both Jerusalem, Israel, and in São Paulo, Brazil, where the Universal Church of the Kingdom of God (UCKG) last year inaugurated the monumental Third Temple of Solomon, built according to “biblical” proportions. Assaulted by a barrage of image and sound, the viewers will be challenged to tell the old Jerusalem from the new, the real from the fake, and the literal from the metaphorical.

The viewers of the show will get a taste of the Jerusalem “experience” as filmed and photographed in both Jerusalem, Israel, and in São Paulo, Brazil, where the Universal Church of the Kingdom of God (UCKG) last year inaugurated the monumental Third Temple of Solomon, built according to “biblical” proportions. Assaulted by a barrage of image and sound, the viewers will be challenged to tell the old Jerusalem from the new, the real from the fake, and the literal from the metaphorical.

Related content

Efrat Shvily
THE JERUSALEM EXPERIENCE

02.06 — 20.08.2017

Dans son travail, «The Jerusalem Experience», Efrat Shvily, en collaboration avec Oren Myers, considère les façons dont la Jérusalem historique est transformée en une «expérience» grâce à l’aide des technologies de pointe, dans l’intérêt des visiteurs certes, mais aussi celui des forces politiques, religieuses et commerciales concernées.

Un projet d’Efrat Shvily, en collaboration avec Oren Myers

Curateurs : Reinhard Braun and Joerg Bader

Vernissage le jeudi 1er juin dès 18h

Samedi 3 juin à 14h30

Discussion avec Efrat Shvily, Marie-José Mondzain & Joerg Bader.

Jeudi 22 juin de 18h30 à 20h30
Cinéma Dynamo
Projection en continu du film INFERNO (22 min.) de Yael Bartana, en écho avec l’exposition individuelle de cette dernière au Musée Cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Les spectateurs du «show» auront un aperçu de l’»expérience» Jérusalem telle que filmée et photographiée aussi bien à Jérusalem (Israël), qu’à São Paulo (Brésil), où l’Eglise Universelle du Royaume de Dieu (Universal Church of the Kingdom of God - UCKG) a récemment inauguré un monumental Temple de Salomon, construit selon les proportions «bibliques». Assaillis par un barrage de sons et d’images, les spectateurs devront dès lors tenter de distinguer l’ancienne J [...]

Les spectateurs du «show» auront un aperçu de l’»expérience» Jérusalem telle que filmée et photographiée aussi bien à Jérusalem (Israël), qu’à São Paulo (Brésil), où l’Eglise Universelle du Royaume de Dieu (Universal Church of the Kingdom of God - UCKG) a récemment inauguré un monumental Temple de Salomon, construit selon les proportions «bibliques». Assaillis par un barrage de sons et d’images, les spectateurs devront dès lors tenter de distinguer l’ancienne Jérusalem de la nouvelle, le réel du simulacre, et le littéral du métaphorique.


Fiche d'artiste

Efrat Shvily * 1955 à Jerusalem, vit à Jerusalem

Les spectateurs du «show» auront un aperçu de l’»expérience» Jérusalem telle que filmée et photographiée aussi bien à Jérusalem (Israël), qu’à São Paulo (Brésil), où l’Eglise Universelle du Royaume de Dieu (Universal Church of the Kingdom of God - UCKG) a récemment inauguré un monumental Temple de Salomon, construit selon les proportions «bibliques». Assaillis par un barrage de sons et d’images, les spectateurs devront dès lors tenter de distinguer l’ancienne J [...]

Les spectateurs du «show» auront un aperçu de l’»expérience» Jérusalem telle que filmée et photographiée aussi bien à Jérusalem (Israël), qu’à São Paulo (Brésil), où l’Eglise Universelle du Royaume de Dieu (Universal Church of the Kingdom of God - UCKG) a récemment inauguré un monumental Temple de Salomon, construit selon les proportions «bibliques». Assaillis par un barrage de sons et d’images, les spectateurs devront dès lors tenter de distinguer l’ancienne Jérusalem de la nouvelle, le réel du simulacre, et le littéral du métaphorique.

En relation