Artist file


Pablo Reol * 1989 in Bordeaux, lives in Montreuil

Pablo Réol’s Derniers collages lie halfway between the last glass and the last episode of a cult series: They are addictive! He associates two images to turn them into a single image, and as is well known, simple things are best: a pair of well-kept hands delicately touch a smooth pebble suitable for hot stone massage / a wall of demonstrators happily throw cobblestones at the police in May 68. Three fine Roman amphorae recovered from the seabed through the centuries / a huge 2 [...]

Pablo Réol’s Derniers collages lie halfway between the last glass and the last episode of a cult series: They are addictive! He associates two images to turn them into a single image, and as is well known, simple things are best: a pair of well-kept hands delicately touch a smooth pebble suitable for hot stone massage / a wall of demonstrators happily throw cobblestones at the police in May 68. Three fine Roman amphorae recovered from the seabed through the centuries / a huge 200,000 tonne container ship. Or again, the one used for the Neoglobalidad poster: A model of a Visa card sporting a sailing ship as a visual / the blue, oily expanse of the Mediterranean Sea. Pablo Réol’s gaze is tinged with both fascination and disquiet since he is conveying a way of life resting on merchandise. All his collages since the start of his series in 2014 bear playful witness to our consumer relationship to images which is revealed to be as sublime as it is obsessively vulgar and repetitive.

As a pioneer he explores and absorbs the huge field of photomontage on social media, and more widely the intensive digital expressivism encouraged by the giants of the web.

Pablo Réol, born in 1989 in Bordeaux, is based in Montreuil. He presents himself as a scavenger, a voyeur, an artist and photographer with a wide-ranging practice. He digests incessant flows of images, turning them into a physical material which he handles through associative games, going from collage to sculpture. His creative works have been shown in Germany at the Kunsthalle der Sparkasse in Leipzig; in Mexico at Oficina de Arte, Mexico; in Switzerland at the Commun in Geneva and with the extramural Palais de Tokyo in the context of Manifesta 11 in Zurich; in Cuba for the Biennale of Havana; and in France, specifically at the 66th edition of the Jeune Création exhibition at the Thaddaeus Ropac gallery in Pantin.

 

Photography : Pablo Reol, Empire, collage numérique, dimensions variables, 2015

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Pablo Reol * 1989 à Bordeaux, vit à Montreuil

Les Derniers collages de Pablo Reol se situent à mi chemin entre le dernier verre et le dernier épisode d’une série culte, ils sont addictifs ! Il associe deux images pour en faire une seule, et c’est bien connu, les choses simples sont les meilleures :Une paire de mains soignées touchent délicatement un doux galet adéquat au massage pierre chaude / un mur de manifestant balance joyeusement des pavés sur les flics en mai 68. Trois belles amphores romaines ramenées du f [...]

Les Derniers collages de Pablo Reol se situent à mi chemin entre le dernier verre et le dernier épisode d’une série culte, ils sont addictifs ! Il associe deux images pour en faire une seule, et c’est bien connu, les choses simples sont les meilleures :Une paire de mains soignées touchent délicatement un doux galet adéquat au massage pierre chaude / un mur de manifestant balance joyeusement des pavés sur les flics en mai 68. Trois belles amphores romaines ramenées du fond de l’eau à travers les siècles / un porte conteneur géant de 200 000 tonnes. Ou encore, celui emprunté pour l’affiche de Néoglobalidad : Un modèle de carte visa arborant un voilier en visuel / l’étendue bleue et huileuse de la mer méditerranée. Le regard de Pablo Réol est teinté autant de fascination que d’inquiétude puisqu’il rend compte d’un mode de vie reposant sur la marchandise. Tous ses collages, depuis le début de sa série en 2014, témoignent de façon ludique de notre relation de consommation aux images qui se révèle aussi sublime qu’obnubilante de vulgarité et de répétition. Il explore et absorbe en pionnier le vaste domaine du photomontage sur les médias sociaux, et plus largement l’intensif expressivisme digital encouragé par les géants du web.

Pablo Réol, né en 1989 à Bordeaux, est basé à Montreuil. Il se présente comme un pilleur, un voyeur, un artiste et photographe à la pratique étendue. Il digère des flux incessants d’images pour en faire une matière physique qu’il traite par des jeux d’association, passant du collage à la sculpture. Ses créations ont été montrées en Allemagne à la Kunsthalle der Sparkasse de Leipzig; au Mexique à Oficina de Arte, Mexico; en Suisse au Commun à Genève et avec le Palais de Tokyo hors-les-murs dans le cadre de la Manifesta 11 à Zurich; à Cuba pour la Biennale de la Havane et en France notamment lors de la la soixante sixième édition de l’exposition Jeune Création à la galerie Thaddaeus Ropac de Pantin.

 

Photographie : Pablo Reol, Empire, collage numérique, dimensions variables, 2015

En relation