Artist file


Anaëlle Vanel * 1991 in Mende, lives in Berlin

All the theoretical and field work of Anaëlle Vanel, from the Fort du Taureau, where the revolutionary communard August Blanqui was imprisoned as far as Warsaw, where the herbarium of Rosa Luxembourg is kept (to which she devoted herself until her murder) participate to express the gestures by which photography contributes to the preservation of history. These gestures have created an off-the-job laboratory on how to maintain, everywhere, fronts of disobedience of art and constantly confron [...]

All the theoretical and field work of Anaëlle Vanel, from the Fort du Taureau, where the revolutionary communard August Blanqui was imprisoned as far as Warsaw, where the herbarium of Rosa Luxembourg is kept (to which she devoted herself until her murder) participate to express the gestures by which photography contributes to the preservation of history. These gestures have created an off-the-job laboratory on how to maintain, everywhere, fronts of disobedience of art and constantly confronting a symbolic activity at the limits of its practical effectiveness. In this sense, when about Rosa Luxemburg, Anaëlle Vanel points out that each plant is an anchorage point removed from the instability of historical time, it appears as a lifting of a trauma, in the sense that power revolutionary thoughts become again affirmative, and are no longer confused with mourning, failure, or repression. To the question of repression and confinement, Anaëlle superimposes that of psychotherapy and language by writing. She went to Algeria several times and photographed the internal newspaper of the psychiatric hospital of St Alban, the hospital of Doctor Franz Fanon, who wrote the therapeutic role of the commitment. The Sumerian tablet is the act of selling a slave in the town of Shurrupak, 2600 BC, and it is the birth of writing. The child's drawing of Claudine V. who says "Ideas hide my stone base" is what remains and can not be denied, and as the artist says, from which we can reconstruct.

Anaëlle Vanel (* 1991, Mende, lives and works in Berlin). His photographic work is based on the principle of rarity. Each photograph is the culmination of a sedimentation of experiences and stories. Each image is autonomous. The text, the second slope of his practice, is an off-field that digs photography. Photography proves to be the repository of a story it encloses. This is to preserve this story, the initial mystery of the encounter, not to damage the object photographed. The lighting is not destroyed: the object is not exposed. So, what you see is never all there is to see. Graduated from ENSBA Lyon in 2014, her works have been presented in France and abroad in collective exhibitions, notably at Villa Medicis, Rome; at the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Saint Etienne; Kunsthalle der Sparkasse, Leipzig.

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Anaëlle Vanel * 1991 à Mende, vit à Berlin

Tout le travail théorique et de terrain d’Anaëlle Vanel, du Fort du Taureau où fut emprisonné le révolutionnaire communard August Blanqui jusqu’à Varsovie où est conservé l’herbier de Rosa Luxembourg (auquel elle se consacra jusqu’à son assassinat), participe fondamentalement à exprimer les gestes grâce auxquels la photographie contribue à préserver l’histoire. Ces gestes ont créé un laboratoire hors-temps sur les façons de maintenir partout, des fronts de désobéi [...]

Tout le travail théorique et de terrain d’Anaëlle Vanel, du Fort du Taureau où fut emprisonné le révolutionnaire communard August Blanqui jusqu’à Varsovie où est conservé l’herbier de Rosa Luxembourg (auquel elle se consacra jusqu’à son assassinat), participe fondamentalement à exprimer les gestes grâce auxquels la photographie contribue à préserver l’histoire. Ces gestes ont créé un laboratoire hors-temps sur les façons de maintenir partout, des fronts de désobéissance de l’art et de confronter en permanence une activité symbolique aux limites de son efficacité pratique. En ce sens, lorsqu’à propos de Rosa Luxembourg, Anaëlle Vanel relève que chaque plante est un point d’ancrage soustrait à l’instabilité du temps historique, cela apparaît au titre de la levée d’un trauma, au sens ou la puissance des pensées révolutionnaires y redevient affirmative, et ne se confond plus avec le deuil, l’échec ou le refoulement. À la question de la répression et de l’enfermement, Anaëlle superpose celle de la psychothérapie et du langage par l’écriture. Elle se rend en Algérie à plusieurs reprises et photographie le journal intérieur de l’hôpital psychiatrique de St Alban, l’hôpital du Docteur Franz Fanon, qui écrit le rôle thérapeutique de l’engagement. La tablette sumérienne, c’est l’acte de vente d’un esclave dans la ville de Shurrupak, 2600 avant J.C. et c’est la naissance de l’écriture. Le dessin d’enfant de Claudine V. qui dit « Idées cachent ma base de pierre », c'est ce qui reste et qu’on ne peut pas renier, et comme le dit l’artiste, à partir de quoi on peut reconstruire.

Anaëlle Vanel (*1991, Mende, vit et travaille à Berlin). Son travail photographique repose sur le principe de la rareté. Chaque photographie est l’aboutissement d’une sédimentation d’expériences et d’histoires. Chaque image est autonome. Le texte, second versant de sa pratique, est un hors-champ qui creuse la photographie. La photographie se révèle être la dépositaire d’une histoire qu’elle enclôt. Il s’agit de préserver cette histoire, le mystère initial de la rencontre, de ne pas abîmer l’objet photographié. La mise en lumière n’est pas destruction : l’objet ne s’exhibe pas. Alors, ce que l’on voit n’est jamais tout ce qu’il y a voir. Diplômée de l’ENSBA Lyon en 2014, ses oeuvres ont été présentées en France et à l'étranger dans des expositions collectives, notamment à la Villa Medicis, Rome; au Musée d’Art Moderne et Contemporain, Saint Etienne; Kunsthalle der Sparkasse, Leipzig.

Photographie : Annaëlle Vanel, 2600 avant J.C., acte de vente d’un esclave mâle et d’une maison de la ville de Shuruppak, tablette sumérienne archaïque, 2017

En relation