PETER PILLER
BELEGKONTROLLE

12.12.2014 — 21.02.2015

Peter Piller – BELEGKONTROLLE is a two-part exhibition that takes place at the same time at the Fotomuseum Winterthur and the Centre de la photographie Genève (CPG). It is to this day the largest exhibition of Peter Piller’s work, born in 1968 in Fitzlar, Germany and living and working in Hamburg.

Vernissage: 11.12.2014

A CO-PRODUCTION BETWEEN THE FOTOMUSEUM WINTERTHUR AND THE CENTRE OF PHOTOGRAPHY IN GENEVA.
THE EXPOSURE TAKES PLACE SIMULTANEOUSLY IN BOTH INSTITUTIONS
Exhibition partners:
Städtische Gallery Nordhorn and Kunsthalle Nürnberg

The Centre de la photographie Genève had already shown Peter Piller's Nimmt Schaden series in 2010 as part of the exhibition La revanche de l'archive photographique. While the Fotomuseum also shows drawings and photographs made by the artist himself, the CPG focuses exclusively on the Archiv Peter Piller (accessible on the Internet under peterpiller.de) and more precisely on an aspect that has never been shown before in this constellation: the "militaria".

The Peter Piller Archive is not hierarchically constructed and does not know any categories, neither that of art history with its genres ranging from landscape to portrait, nor that of libraries with its themes ranging from "army" to "zoology" for example. The archive does not even know any keywords or alphabetical order. In this sense, the "visitor" can only rely on his curiosity, operate by association and let himself be guided by his own intuition. Thus Peter Piller's limitation to the "militaria" is arbitrary and unique.

The following series will be shown at the CPG: Umschläge (2011/2012), Immer noch Sturm (2011), Bombenentschärfer (2009), Unangeneheme Nachbarn (2004), Nachkriegsordnung (2003), Dekoration + Munition (2000 - 2006). All Peter Piller's war series deal with their subject only at an angle. There is not a photograph showing the horrors of war. Thus Bombenentschärfer ("Bomb Defusers"), Unangeneheme Nachbarn (Unpleasant Neighbours), Nachkriegsordnung (Post-war Order), and Decoration + Ammunition (Decoration and Ammunition) all have bombs as their subject; defusing devices that show bombs found in the basements of German cities as fish in a fishing competition, postcards from the First World War playing the propaganda game by showing that enemy devices have not exploded; luminous traces of bomb explosions in the night sky of Baghdad at the beginning of hostilities in March 2003 and collected from many local German daily newspapers and photographs gleaned from the Internet (eBay) showing shell casings of projectiles in private homes. The Umschläge (Covers) series puts photographs side by side that have been intended for time-delayed reading. These are the covers of the magazine "Armeerundschau" of the former GDR.

Peter Piller's first solo exhibition in French-speaking Switzerland will also be an opportunity to present the artist's latest and unpublished series: Afghanistan Field Research (2014). Although this series also refers to war, in this case the wars waged by the Soviets, then by the Taliban, then by the Americans and their allies for 34 years now, it is an exception to previous series in that the artist evokes the devastation of this country and its population in an allegorical way through the photographs in a botany manual.

For the Belegkontrolle exhibition, the Centre de la photographie Genève editions, distributed by Les presses du réel, publishes Nachkriegsordnung, a new white notebook, following the same graphic line as the previous ones, which together summarize the Archiv Peter Piller .

On the occasion of Peter Piller's double exhibition Belegkontrolle in Winterthur and Geneva, a book with 12 authors' texts will be published by Walther König Publishing in Cologne. Since the visual material of the Archiv Peter Piller is through the various white notebooks (almost entirely published), it seemed important to encourage a critical reading of this corpus built over 20 years. The authors are Lisa Antonelli, Dietmar Dath, Joerg Heiser, Daniela Janser, Ben Kafka, Max Küng, Geert Lovink, Maren Lübbke Tiedow, Peter Piller, Dieter Roelstraete, Ludwig Seyfarth, Markus Steinweg, Harald Welzer and Joerg Bader, CPG Director.

Peter Piller will also participate in the 30-year-old tombola, PHOTOWIN - FOR THE CPG! and he will be a speaker at the symposium Collect or be Collected, organized on December 5, 2014 from 14h to 18h30 at the CPG, Bac conference room, at the initiative of ASIP (Association Suisse des Institutions Photographiques) and the CPG.

The "BELEGKONTROLLE" exhibition is supported by the Fonds cantonal d'art contemporain de Genève


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

Artist file

Peter Piller * 1968 in Fritzlar, Allemagne, lives in Hambourg

The Centre de la photographie Genève had already shown Peter Piller's Nimmt Schaden series in 2010 as part of the exhibition La revanche de l'archive photographique. While the Fotomuseum also shows drawings and photographs made by the artist himself, the CPG focuses exclusively on the Archiv Peter Piller (accessible on the Internet under peterpiller.de) and more precisely on an aspect that has never been shown before in this constellation: the "militaria".

The Peter Piller Archive is [...]

The Centre de la photographie Genève had already shown Peter Piller's Nimmt Schaden series in 2010 as part of the exhibition La revanche de l'archive photographique. While the Fotomuseum also shows drawings and photographs made by the artist himself, the CPG focuses exclusively on the Archiv Peter Piller (accessible on the Internet under peterpiller.de) and more precisely on an aspect that has never been shown before in this constellation: the "militaria".

The Peter Piller Archive is not hierarchically constructed and does not know any categories, neither that of art history with its genres ranging from landscape to portrait, nor that of libraries with its themes ranging from "army" to "zoology" for example. The archive does not even know any keywords or alphabetical order. In this sense, the "visitor" can only rely on his curiosity, operate by association and let himself be guided by his own intuition. Thus Peter Piller's limitation to the "militaria" is arbitrary and unique.

The following series will be shown at the CPG: Umschläge (2011/2012), Immer noch Sturm (2011), Bombenentschärfer (2009), Unangeneheme Nachbarn (2004), Nachkriegsordnung (2003), Dekoration + Munition (2000 - 2006). All Peter Piller's war series deal with their subject only at an angle. There is not a photograph showing the horrors of war. Thus Bombenentschärfer ("Bomb Defusers"), Unangeneheme Nachbarn (Unpleasant Neighbours), Nachkriegsordnung (Post-war Order), and Decoration + Ammunition (Decoration and Ammunition) all have bombs as their subject; defusing devices that show bombs found in the basements of German cities as fish in a fishing competition, postcards from the First World War playing the propaganda game by showing that enemy devices have not exploded; luminous traces of bomb explosions in the night sky of Baghdad at the beginning of hostilities in March 2003 and collected from many local German daily newspapers and photographs gleaned from the Internet (eBay) showing shell casings of projectiles in private homes. The Umschläge (Covers) series puts photographs side by side that have been intended for time-delayed reading. These are the covers of the magazine "Armeerundschau" of the former GDR.

Peter Piller's first solo exhibition in French-speaking Switzerland will also be an opportunity to present the artist's latest and unpublished series: Afghanistan Field Research (2014). Although this series also refers to war, in this case the wars waged by the Soviets, then by the Taliban, then by the Americans and their allies for 34 years now, it is an exception to previous series in that the artist evokes the devastation of this country and its population in an allegorical way through the photographs in a botany manual.

For the Belegkontrolle exhibition, the Centre de la photographie Genève editions, distributed by Les presses du réel, publishes Nachkriegsordnung, a new white notebook, following the same graphic line as the previous ones, which together summarize the Archiv Peter Piller .

On the occasion of Peter Piller's double exhibition Belegkontrolle in Winterthur and Geneva, a book with 12 authors' texts will be published by Walther König Publishing in Cologne. Since the visual material of the Archiv Peter Piller is through the various white notebooks (almost entirely published), it seemed important to encourage a critical reading of this corpus built over 20 years. The authors are Lisa Antonelli, Dietmar Dath, Joerg Heiser, Daniela Janser, Ben Kafka, Max Küng, Geert Lovink, Maren Lübbke Tiedow, Peter Piller, Dieter Roelstraete, Ludwig Seyfarth, Markus Steinweg, Harald Welzer and Joerg Bader, CPG Director.

Peter Piller will also participate in the 30-year-old tombola, PHOTOWIN - FOR THE CPG! and he will be a speaker at the symposium Collect or be Collected, organized on December 5, 2014 from 14h to 18h30 at the CPG, Bac conference room, at the initiative of ASIP (Association Suisse des Institutions Photographiques) and the CPG.

The "BELEGKONTROLLE" exhibition is supported by the Fonds cantonal d'art contemporain de Genève


Exhibition view

Related content

PETER PILLER
BELEGKONTROLLE

12.12.2014 — 21.02.2015

Peter Piller – BELEGKONTROLLE est une exposition en 2 parties qui a lieu en même temps au Fotomuseum Winterthur et au Centre de la photographie Genève (CPG). Elle est jusqu’à ce jour la plus grande exposition du travail de Peter Piller, né en 1968 à Fitzlar, en Allemagne et vivant et travaillant à Hambourg.

Vernissage: 11.12.2014

UNE COPRODUCTION ENTRE LE FOTOMUSEUM WINTERTHUR ET LE CENTRE DE LA PHOTOGRAPHIE GENÈVE.
L’EXPOSITION A LIEU SIMULTANÉMENT DANS LES DEUX INSTITUTIONS
Partenaires des expositions:
Städtische Galerie Nordhorn et Kunsthalle Nürnberg

Le Centre de la photographie Genève avait déjà montré la série Nimmt Schaden de Peter Piller en 2010 dans le cadre de l’exposition La revanche de l’archive photographique. Tandis que le Fotomuseum montre aussi des dessins et des photographies faites par l’artiste lui même, le CPG se concentre exclusivement sur le Archiv Peter Piller (accessible sur internet sous peterpiller.de) et plus précisément sur un aspect qui n’a jamais été montré jusqu’ [...]

Le Centre de la photographie Genève avait déjà montré la série Nimmt Schaden de Peter Piller en 2010 dans le cadre de l’exposition La revanche de l’archive photographique. Tandis que le Fotomuseum montre aussi des dessins et des photographies faites par l’artiste lui même, le CPG se concentre exclusivement sur le Archiv Peter Piller (accessible sur internet sous peterpiller.de) et plus précisément sur un aspect qui n’a jamais été montré jusqu’à présent dans cette constellation : la « militaria ».

Le Archiv Peter Piller n’est pas construit de manière hiérarchique et ne connait pas de catégories, ni celle de l’histoire de l’art avec ses genres allant du paysage au portrait, ni celle des bibliothèques avec ses thématiques allant de « armée » à « zoologie » par exemple. L’archive ne connaît pas même de mots clef ou d’ordre alphabétique. En ce sens, le « visiteur » ne peut se fier qu’à sa curiosité, opérer par association et se laisser guider par sa propre intuition. Ainsi la limitation à la « militaria » de Peter Piller est arbitraire et unique.

Seront montrées au CPG les série : Umschläge (2011/2012), Immer noch Sturm (2011), Bombenentschärfer (2009), Unangeneheme Nachbarn(2004), Nachkriegsordnung (2003), Dekoration + Munition (2000 – 2006). Toutes les séries de Peter Piller ayant trait à la guerre ne traitent leur sujet qu’en biais. Il n’y a pas une photographie démontrant les horreurs de la guerre. Ainsi Bombenentschärfer (« Désamorceurs » de bombes), Unangeneheme Nachbarn (Voisins désagréables),Nachkriegsordnung (Ordre post-guerre), et Decoration + Munition(Décoration et Munition) ont tous comme sujet les bombes; les désamorceurs qui montrent les bombes trouvées dans les sous-sols des ville allemandes comme des poissons lors d’un concours de pêche, des cartes postales de la première guerre faisant le jeu de la propagande en démontrant que les engins de l’ennemi n’ont pas explosé; des traces lumineuses d’explosions de bombes dans le ciel nocturne de Bagdad lors du début des hostilités en mars 2003 et collectées sur les unes de maints quotidiens locaux allemands et des photographies glanées sur internet (eBay) montrant des douilles de projectiles dans des habitations privées. La série Umschläge (Couvertures) met côte à côte des photographies qui ont été destinées à une lecture différée dans le temps. Il s’agit des couvertures de la revue « Armeerundschau » de l’ancienne RDA.

La première exposition personnelle de Peter Piller en Suisse romande sera aussi l’occasion de présenter la dernière et inédite série de l’artiste:Afghanistan Field Research (2014). Bien que cette série aussi se réfère à la guerre, dans ce cas les guerres menées par les Soviétiques, ensuite par les Talibans, puis par les Américains et leurs alliés depuis maintenant 34 ans, elle fait exception par rapport aux précédentes séries dans la mesure où l’artiste évoque la dévastation de ce pays et de sa population de manière allégorique à travers les photographies d’un manuel de botanique.

Pour l’exposition Belegkontrolle, les éditions Centre de la photographie Genève, diffusées par Les presses du réel, édite Nachkriegsordnung, un nouveau cahiers blanc, suivant la même ligne graphique que les précédents, dont l’ensemble résume le Archiv Peter Piller .

À l’occasion de la double exposition Belegkontrolle de Peter Piller à Winterthur et Genève, un livre constitué de 12 textes d’auteurs sera publié par les éditions Walther König à Cologne. Étant donné que le matériel visuel du Archiv Peter Piller est à travers les différents cahiers blancs (presque) entièrements publié, il paraîssait important de favoriser une lecture critique de ce corpus construit en 20 ans. Les auteurs sont Lisa Antonelli, Dietmar Dath, Joerg Heiser, Daniela Janser, Ben Kafka, Max Küng, Geert Lovink, Maren Lübbke Tiedow, Peter Piller, Dieter Roelstraete, Ludwig Seyfarth, Markus Steinweg, Harald Welzer et Joerg Bader, directeur du CPG.

Peter Piller participera également à la Tombola des 30 ans, PHOTOWIN – POUR LE CPG ! et il sera intervenant du symposium Collectionner ou être collectionné, organisé le 5 décembre 2014 de 14h à 18h30 au CPG, salle de conférence du Bac, à l’initiative de l’ASIP (Association Suisse des Institutions Photographiques) et du CPG.

L'exposition "BELEGKONTROLLE" bénéficie du soutien du Fonds cantonal d'art contemporain de Genève


Soutiens

Avec le généreux soutien de(s) partenaire(s) suivant(s)

Fiche d'artiste

Peter Piller * 1968 à Fritzlar, Allemagne, vit à Hambourg

Le Centre de la photographie Genève avait déjà montré la série Nimmt Schaden de Peter Piller en 2010 dans le cadre de l’exposition La revanche de l’archive photographique. Tandis que le Fotomuseum montre aussi des dessins et des photographies faites par l’artiste lui même, le CPG se concentre exclusivement sur le Archiv Peter Piller (accessible sur internet sous peterpiller.de) et plus précisément sur un aspect qui n’a jamais été montré jusqu’ [...]

Le Centre de la photographie Genève avait déjà montré la série Nimmt Schaden de Peter Piller en 2010 dans le cadre de l’exposition La revanche de l’archive photographique. Tandis que le Fotomuseum montre aussi des dessins et des photographies faites par l’artiste lui même, le CPG se concentre exclusivement sur le Archiv Peter Piller (accessible sur internet sous peterpiller.de) et plus précisément sur un aspect qui n’a jamais été montré jusqu’à présent dans cette constellation : la « militaria ».

Le Archiv Peter Piller n’est pas construit de manière hiérarchique et ne connait pas de catégories, ni celle de l’histoire de l’art avec ses genres allant du paysage au portrait, ni celle des bibliothèques avec ses thématiques allant de « armée » à « zoologie » par exemple. L’archive ne connaît pas même de mots clef ou d’ordre alphabétique. En ce sens, le « visiteur » ne peut se fier qu’à sa curiosité, opérer par association et se laisser guider par sa propre intuition. Ainsi la limitation à la « militaria » de Peter Piller est arbitraire et unique.

Seront montrées au CPG les série : Umschläge (2011/2012), Immer noch Sturm (2011), Bombenentschärfer (2009), Unangeneheme Nachbarn(2004), Nachkriegsordnung (2003), Dekoration + Munition (2000 – 2006). Toutes les séries de Peter Piller ayant trait à la guerre ne traitent leur sujet qu’en biais. Il n’y a pas une photographie démontrant les horreurs de la guerre. Ainsi Bombenentschärfer (« Désamorceurs » de bombes), Unangeneheme Nachbarn (Voisins désagréables),Nachkriegsordnung (Ordre post-guerre), et Decoration + Munition(Décoration et Munition) ont tous comme sujet les bombes; les désamorceurs qui montrent les bombes trouvées dans les sous-sols des ville allemandes comme des poissons lors d’un concours de pêche, des cartes postales de la première guerre faisant le jeu de la propagande en démontrant que les engins de l’ennemi n’ont pas explosé; des traces lumineuses d’explosions de bombes dans le ciel nocturne de Bagdad lors du début des hostilités en mars 2003 et collectées sur les unes de maints quotidiens locaux allemands et des photographies glanées sur internet (eBay) montrant des douilles de projectiles dans des habitations privées. La série Umschläge (Couvertures) met côte à côte des photographies qui ont été destinées à une lecture différée dans le temps. Il s’agit des couvertures de la revue « Armeerundschau » de l’ancienne RDA.

La première exposition personnelle de Peter Piller en Suisse romande sera aussi l’occasion de présenter la dernière et inédite série de l’artiste:Afghanistan Field Research (2014). Bien que cette série aussi se réfère à la guerre, dans ce cas les guerres menées par les Soviétiques, ensuite par les Talibans, puis par les Américains et leurs alliés depuis maintenant 34 ans, elle fait exception par rapport aux précédentes séries dans la mesure où l’artiste évoque la dévastation de ce pays et de sa population de manière allégorique à travers les photographies d’un manuel de botanique.

Pour l’exposition Belegkontrolle, les éditions Centre de la photographie Genève, diffusées par Les presses du réel, édite Nachkriegsordnung, un nouveau cahiers blanc, suivant la même ligne graphique que les précédents, dont l’ensemble résume le Archiv Peter Piller .

À l’occasion de la double exposition Belegkontrolle de Peter Piller à Winterthur et Genève, un livre constitué de 12 textes d’auteurs sera publié par les éditions Walther König à Cologne. Étant donné que le matériel visuel du Archiv Peter Piller est à travers les différents cahiers blancs (presque) entièrements publié, il paraîssait important de favoriser une lecture critique de ce corpus construit en 20 ans. Les auteurs sont Lisa Antonelli, Dietmar Dath, Joerg Heiser, Daniela Janser, Ben Kafka, Max Küng, Geert Lovink, Maren Lübbke Tiedow, Peter Piller, Dieter Roelstraete, Ludwig Seyfarth, Markus Steinweg, Harald Welzer et Joerg Bader, directeur du CPG.

Peter Piller participera également à la Tombola des 30 ans, PHOTOWIN – POUR LE CPG ! et il sera intervenant du symposium Collectionner ou être collectionné, organisé le 5 décembre 2014 de 14h à 18h30 au CPG, salle de conférence du Bac, à l’initiative de l’ASIP (Association Suisse des Institutions Photographiques) et du CPG.

L'exposition "BELEGKONTROLLE" bénéficie du soutien du Fonds cantonal d'art contemporain de Genève


Vue d'exposition

En relation