Artist file


Peter Piller * 1968 in Fritzlar, Allemagne, lives in Hambourg

Peter Piller works on reinterpretation and depiction of modern documentary photographs and archive images previously published in other contexts (regional newspapers, internet…). He classifies and rearranges its as mural installations and artist’s books. With a careful observation and a subtle humor, Peter Piller, through this method, questions the images and the media’s potential. He examines possibilities and limits of photography in relation to conceptual art. From 1994 [...]

Peter Piller works on reinterpretation and depiction of modern documentary photographs and archive images previously published in other contexts (regional newspapers, internet…). He classifies and rearranges its as mural installations and artist’s books. With a careful observation and a subtle humor, Peter Piller, through this method, questions the images and the media’s potential. He examines possibilities and limits of photography in relation to conceptual art. From 1994 to 2005, Peter Piller earned his living as the head for documentation in an important media agency in Hambourg, in charge with daily analyzing and archiving 150 regional newspapers. This activity established the material for the “Archiv Peter Piller“, an artistic collection of newspaper’s photographs classified on subjective typologies giving a feed back on our information culture and its visual archetypes.

Interested in truly insignificant photos, Peter Piller explores this “genre” in the local press and uses it to build up an archive with no hierarchical, alphabetical or thematic organization. The titles are usually subjective and/or ambiguous (consultable at http://www.peterpiller.de/). He slowly enlarges this corpus by adding new, highly disparate groups—for example, a selection from the photo archives of the insurance company La Bâloise that the CPG showed during the 50JPGphoto festival in 2010. At Piller’s 2014 CPG retrospective, held in partnership with the Fotomuseum Winterthur, the emphasis was on war-related images. In the spirit of the CPG’s curatorial practice of showing the same piece in different exhibitions and contexts, the 2011-2012 series Umschläge (Covers)will be seen this time in its book form. It pairs images meant to be viewed at different moments—the front and back covers of the military photo magazine Armeerundschau. Published in the former East Germany, its front cover always featured soldiers with their military gear, and the back cover, a young and sometimes coquettish woman.

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Peter Piller * 1968 à Fritzlar, Allemagne, vit à Hambourg

Peter Piller travaille sur la réinterprétation et la représentation de photographies et d’images d’archives, précédemment publiées dans d’autres contextes (journaux régionaux, Internet...), qu’il classe et réagence dans des installations murales et des livres d’artiste. Avec une observation minutieuse et un humour subtil, Peter Piller, par ce procédé, interroge le potentiel des images des médias ainsi que les possibilités et limites de la photographie et de l’art conc [...]

Peter Piller travaille sur la réinterprétation et la représentation de photographies et d’images d’archives, précédemment publiées dans d’autres contextes (journaux régionaux, Internet...), qu’il classe et réagence dans des installations murales et des livres d’artiste. Avec une observation minutieuse et un humour subtil, Peter Piller, par ce procédé, interroge le potentiel des images des médias ainsi que les possibilités et limites de la photographie et de l’art conceptuel. De 1994 à 2005, Peter Piller a gagné sa vie comme responsable de la documentation dans une grande agence de médias à Hambourg, chargé de l’analyse quotidienne et de l’archivage de 150 journaux régionaux. Cette activité a constitué le matériau des Peter Piller Archives, une collection artistique de photographies de journaux classées d’après une typologie subjective qui rend compte de notre culture de l’information et de ses archétypes visuels.

Attiré par les photographies les plus insignifiantes, Peter Piller découvre ce « genre » dans la presse locale et s’investit à construire une archive sans classements hiérarchiques, alphabétiques, ou thématiques, avec des intitulés souvent subjectifs et/ou ambigus, consultable sur le site http://www.peterpiller.de/. L’artiste élargit doucement cette collecte en y ajoutant des corpus fort variés, comme par exemple une sélection de l’archive photographique de l’assureur La Bâloise que le CPG avait montrée à l’occasion des 50JPG2010. À l’occasion de sa présentation individuelle en 2014 au CPG, une rétrospective réalisée avec le Fotomuseum Winterthur, l’accent était porté sur toutes les séries ayant trait à la guerre. Dans l’esprit de la pratique curatoriale du CPG d’exposer une même œuvre dans différents contextes/expositions, la série Umschläge (Couvertures) de 2011-2012 sera présente cette fois-ci sous sa forme de livre. Elle met côte à côte des photographies qui ont été destinées à une lecture différée dans le temps. Il s’agit des couvertures de la revue Armeerundschaude l’ancienne RDA, revue qui avait toujours placé en page de titre des soldats avec leurs armes et sur la quatrième de couverture une jeune femme, parfois un tantinet aguicheuse.

En relation