Artist file


Harun Farocki 1944—2014

Harun Farocki, who died in 2014, was a filmmaker, critic, publisher, theoretician, teacher, and curator who trained a lucid and constantly fresh eye on our relation to images and their nature. From his début in 1966, he shot over a hundred, usually short and medium-length films, mainly essays. His resolutely political body of work offers a grid for interpreting the evolution of regimes of images over the last 40 years, and especially the rise of systems of control.

1966–68: Studie [...]

Harun Farocki, who died in 2014, was a filmmaker, critic, publisher, theoretician, teacher, and curator who trained a lucid and constantly fresh eye on our relation to images and their nature. From his début in 1966, he shot over a hundred, usually short and medium-length films, mainly essays. His resolutely political body of work offers a grid for interpreting the evolution of regimes of images over the last 40 years, and especially the rise of systems of control.

1966–68: Studied at the Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (West). 1966: Marriage to Ursula Lefkes. 1968: Birth of daughters Annabel Lee andLarissa Lu. 1974–84: Author and editor of the journal Filmkritik in Munich. 1998: Publication of Speaking about Godard/Von Godard sprechen (with Kaja Silverman). 1993–99: Visiting professor at the University of California, Berkeley. 2001: Marriage to Antje Ehmann. Since 1966: More than a hundred productions for television or the cinema, including children’s television, documentary films, essay films, feature films. Since 1996: Works shown in numerous group and solo exhibitions in museums and galleries. 2007:Deep Play at documenta 12. 2006–11: Two years as visiting professor, then full professor at the Akademie für Bildende Künste, Vienna.

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Harun Farocki 1944—2014

Cinéaste, critique, éditeur, théoricien, enseignant et curateur, Harun Farocki n’a cessé de jeter un regard lucide et constamment renouvelé sur notre rapport aux images et la nature de ces dernières. Il a réalisé depuis 1966 plus de cent films, essentiellement des essais, courts et moyens métrages. Cet oeuvre, résolument politique, offre une grille de lecture de l’évolution des régimes d’images au cours des 40 dernières années, notamment la montée en puissance des dispo [...]

Cinéaste, critique, éditeur, théoricien, enseignant et curateur, Harun Farocki n’a cessé de jeter un regard lucide et constamment renouvelé sur notre rapport aux images et la nature de ces dernières. Il a réalisé depuis 1966 plus de cent films, essentiellement des essais, courts et moyens métrages. Cet oeuvre, résolument politique, offre une grille de lecture de l’évolution des régimes d’images au cours des 40 dernières années, notamment la montée en puissance des dispositifs de contrôle.

De 1966 à 1968, Farocki a fait ses études à la Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie de Berlin (Ouest). En 1966, mariage avec Ursula Lefkes. En 1968, naissance de ses filles Annabel Lee et Larissa Lu. De 1974 à 1984, auteur et rédacteur de la revue Filmkritik à Munich. En 1998, publication de son ouvrage Speaking about Godard (avec Kaja Silverman). De 1993 à 1999, professeur invité à l’University of California, Berkeley. En 2001, mariage avec Antje Ehmann. Depuis 1966, auteur de plus de 100 productions pour la télévision et le cinéma: films pour enfants, documentaires, films d’essai, longs métrages. Depuis 1996, ses travaux ont été présentés dans de nombreuses expositions de groupe ou individuelles, dans des musées et des galeries. En 2007, son travail Deep Play a été présenté dans le cadre de la documenta 12. Après deux ans comme professeur invité, Farocki a été de 2006 à 2011 titulaire d’une chaire à l’Akademie für Bildende Künste de Vienne.

En relation