Maya Bösch, Compagnie Sturmfrei
Explosion of Memories

15.11 — 03.12.2017

This project attacks the subjects of memory and tragedy in a crossover location, where installations, photography, sound spaces and living art meets.

Vernissage: 15.11.2017 18:00

For this project, Maya Bösch is surrounded by Rudy Decelière (sound), Fred Lombard (camera and director of photography), Christian Lutz (photography) and Thibault Vancraenenbroeck (scenography), but also by about fifteen artists and professionals from the film, theatre, performance and contemporary art sectors.

16.11 to 3.12: HIGHLIGHT ME an experiment of continuous exposure in the presence of two actors

Every day at Cinéma Studio: RISS / FÊLURE / CREPA, a 35′ fiction film produced by the Compagnie sturmfrei in co-production with ALVA FILM

24.11 to 18h: LA FORÊT D’O, collective performance in the presence of 100 dancers

18, 19 ,24, 25, 26, 28, and 29.11 from 12pm to 5pm: CARTOGRAPHY RELIEVE, individual session with Anne Marchand, reflexology practitioner

"Explosion of Memories" is an exhibition that combines different artistic forms and practices: cinema, installation, performance, sound, writing and photography.

Taking hold of the common and the CPG as a united space, Maya Bösch proposes to stage the pieces of an exhibition that brings together: her first film, a series of sound, visual and plastic installations, in an attempt to evoke the quest for the impossible reconciliation between the alienating space of the present and the sp [...]

"Explosion of Memories" is an exhibition that combines different artistic forms and practices: cinema, installation, performance, sound, writing and photography.

Taking hold of the common and the CPG as a united space, Maya Bösch proposes to stage the pieces of an exhibition that brings together: her first film, a series of sound, visual and plastic installations, in an attempt to evoke the quest for the impossible reconciliation between the alienating space of the present and the space, dreamt of, exploded from memory.

At the origin of the project, there is this meeting in 2014 between Maya and Gibellina, a Sicilian rural village destroyed by an earthquake in 1968. Then also with Nicolo Stabile, Italian producer, a child born in Gibellina a few years before the earthquake, who led the artistic team to these new places of memory. But what is memory and how is it created? Is memory always collective, tragic? What interests Maya Bösch is not memory as a black box that records the different random information of the system, but memory as a physical event that suddenly emerges: "It pierces violently, between two moments, two images, two sounds, two emotions, into the mental crack like an apparition". Memory tears time into several sequences. It becomes as present as it is palpable, a force that clashes, surprises and then sets itself up as a body, gesture or language on the ruins of reality. "Explosion of Memories" is that experience when memory strikes.

Installation Photographs : PHOTORAMA GIBELLINA, First floor of the Commun

Photographs of Christian Lutz taken during the film's shooting in Gibellina in 2016. A space immersed in a semi-darkness, structured by the graphic of about twenty light beams that cut through and punctuate the space. At the end, on the horizon, barely visible photographs appear as optical phenomena, mirages. About twenty photographs are on the wall in three different exhibition formats, on the walls at the back of the room, opposite the arrival of the stairs. Images of landscapes in the mist, at dusk, at night, territories without humans, fragments, extracts, cracks. A no man's land of picturesque beauty suddenly appears, rising up, fascinating.

The questions that concern Maya Bösch concern the relationship we have with the image: the co-production between image and spectator. How does photography manipulate, experience and reality? Who is the producer of pain and memory? The image or the spectator, or both? Another question essential to the creative process: How to photograph memory? Christian Lutz not only captured images of rehearsal and filming, but also ventured further to explore the landscapes, paths, hills and roads that lead from Gibellina Nuova to Gibellina Vecchia (about 11 km away between the two villages), and to "Grande Cretto": wandering among the ruins, the tragedy, feeling the failure and utopia of bygone times. It's about playing, mixing, relocating, reversing, distancing, disrupting,... creating visions and movement. This installation plays on the visitor's perception and his or her relationship to photography. What happens when it is far from the image, what happens when it is very close. What is an image and what is behind it? Where does photography end and his begins? Is what he sees real or imagined? What is the story of an image? What is his future, his shadow, his imprint? Gibellina presents itself to the visitor as a utopian territory, as a dreamlike, ghostly architecture.


Artist file

Maya Bösch * 1973 in Zürich, lives in Genève

"Explosion of Memories" is an exhibition that combines different artistic forms and practices: cinema, installation, performance, sound, writing and photography.

Taking hold of the common and the CPG as a united space, Maya Bösch proposes to stage the pieces of an exhibition that brings together: her first film, a series of sound, visual and plastic installations, in an attempt to evoke the quest for the impossible reconciliation between the alienating space of the present and the sp [...]

"Explosion of Memories" is an exhibition that combines different artistic forms and practices: cinema, installation, performance, sound, writing and photography.

Taking hold of the common and the CPG as a united space, Maya Bösch proposes to stage the pieces of an exhibition that brings together: her first film, a series of sound, visual and plastic installations, in an attempt to evoke the quest for the impossible reconciliation between the alienating space of the present and the space, dreamt of, exploded from memory.

At the origin of the project, there is this meeting in 2014 between Maya and Gibellina, a Sicilian rural village destroyed by an earthquake in 1968. Then also with Nicolo Stabile, Italian producer, a child born in Gibellina a few years before the earthquake, who led the artistic team to these new places of memory. But what is memory and how is it created? Is memory always collective, tragic? What interests Maya Bösch is not memory as a black box that records the different random information of the system, but memory as a physical event that suddenly emerges: "It pierces violently, between two moments, two images, two sounds, two emotions, into the mental crack like an apparition". Memory tears time into several sequences. It becomes as present as it is palpable, a force that clashes, surprises and then sets itself up as a body, gesture or language on the ruins of reality. "Explosion of Memories" is that experience when memory strikes.

Installation Photographs : PHOTORAMA GIBELLINA, First floor of the Commun

Photographs of Christian Lutz taken during the film's shooting in Gibellina in 2016. A space immersed in a semi-darkness, structured by the graphic of about twenty light beams that cut through and punctuate the space. At the end, on the horizon, barely visible photographs appear as optical phenomena, mirages. About twenty photographs are on the wall in three different exhibition formats, on the walls at the back of the room, opposite the arrival of the stairs. Images of landscapes in the mist, at dusk, at night, territories without humans, fragments, extracts, cracks. A no man's land of picturesque beauty suddenly appears, rising up, fascinating.

The questions that concern Maya Bösch concern the relationship we have with the image: the co-production between image and spectator. How does photography manipulate, experience and reality? Who is the producer of pain and memory? The image or the spectator, or both? Another question essential to the creative process: How to photograph memory? Christian Lutz not only captured images of rehearsal and filming, but also ventured further to explore the landscapes, paths, hills and roads that lead from Gibellina Nuova to Gibellina Vecchia (about 11 km away between the two villages), and to "Grande Cretto": wandering among the ruins, the tragedy, feeling the failure and utopia of bygone times. It's about playing, mixing, relocating, reversing, distancing, disrupting,... creating visions and movement. This installation plays on the visitor's perception and his or her relationship to photography. What happens when it is far from the image, what happens when it is very close. What is an image and what is behind it? Where does photography end and his begins? Is what he sees real or imagined? What is the story of an image? What is his future, his shadow, his imprint? Gibellina presents itself to the visitor as a utopian territory, as a dreamlike, ghostly architecture.


Exhibition view

Related content

Maya Bösch, Compagnie Sturmfrei
Explosion of Memories

15.11 — 03.12.2017

Ce projet aborde les sujets de la mémoire et de la tragédie dans un lieu d’hybridité où se mêlent installations, photographies, espaces sonores, et arts vivants. 

Vernissage: 15.11.2017 18:00

Pour ce projet Maya Bösch s’entoure de Rudy Decelière (son), Fred Lombard (caméra et directeur de photo), Christian Lutz (photographie) et Thibault Vancraenenbroeck (scénographie), mais aussi d’une quinzaine d’artistes et de professionnels venant du cinéma, du théâtre, de la performance et de l’art contemporain.

16.11 au 3.12 : SOULEVE-MOI une expérimentation de l’exposition en continu en présence de deux acteurs

Tous les jours au Cinéma Studio : RISS / FÊLURE / CREPA, un film de fiction 35′ produit par la Compagnie sturmfrei en coproduction avec ALVA FILM

24.11 à 18h : LA FORÊT D’O, performance collective en présence de 100 danseurs

18, 19 ,24, 25, 26, 28, et 29.11 de 12h à 17h : CARTOGRAPHIE RELIEVEséance individuelle avec Anne Marchand, praticienne en réflexologie

Inscription sur : https://doodle.com/poll/t64rbns473ksp4g5

 

www. c i e s t u r m f r e i . c h

« Explosion of Memories » est une exposition qui mêle différentes formes et pratiques artistiques : cinéma, installation, performance, son, écriture et photographie.

S’emparant du Commun et du CPG comme un espace uni, Maya Bösch se propose de mettre en scène les pièces d’une exposition qui rassemble : son premier film, une série d’installations sonores, visuelles, et plastiques, pour tenter d’évoquer la quête de l’impossible réconciliation entre l’e [...]

« Explosion of Memories » est une exposition qui mêle différentes formes et pratiques artistiques : cinéma, installation, performance, son, écriture et photographie.

S’emparant du Commun et du CPG comme un espace uni, Maya Bösch se propose de mettre en scène les pièces d’une exposition qui rassemble : son premier film, une série d’installations sonores, visuelles, et plastiques, pour tenter d’évoquer la quête de l’impossible réconciliation entre l’espace aliénant du présent et celui, rêvé, explosé de la mémoire.

À l’origine du projet, il y a cette rencontre en 2014 entre Maya et Gibellina, un village rural sicilien détruit par un tremblement de terre en 1968. Puis aussi avec Nicolo Stabile, producteur italien, enfant né à Gibellina peu d’années avant le tremblement de terre, qui a conduit l’équipe artistique sur ces nouveaux lieux de mémoire. Mais qu’est-ce que la mémoire et comment se crée t-elle ? La mémoire est-elle toujours collective, tragique ? Ce qui intéresse Maya Bösch, ce n’est pas la mémoire en tant que boîte noire qui enregistre les différentes informations aléatoires du système, mais la mémoire en tant que évènement physique qui surgit d’un coup : « Elle transperce de manière violente, entre deux instants, deux images, deux sons, deux émotions, dans la fente mentale comme une apparition ». La mémoire déchire le temps en plusieurs séquences. Elle devient aussi présente, que palpable, une force qui entrechoque, surprend puis se pose ensuite comme corps, geste ou langage sur les ruines du réel. «Explosion of Memories» est cette expérience quand la mémoire frappe.

 

Installation Photographies : PHOTORAMA GIBELLINA , Premier étage du Commun

Photographies de Christian Lutz prises lors du tournage du film à Gibellina en 2016. Espace plongé dans une pénombre, structuré par le graphique d’une vingtaine de faisceaux lumineux qui tranchent et rythment l’espace. Au bout, à l’horizon, des photographies, à peine visible, apparaissent comme des phénomènes optiques, des mirages. Une vingtaine de photographies  sont au mur dans trois formats d’exposition différents, sur les murs au fond de la salle, à l’opposé de l’arrivée de l’escalier. Des images de paysages dans la brume, au crépuscule, dans la nuit, des territoires sans humain, des fragments, extraits, fêlures. Un no man’s land d’une beauté pittoresque, apparait d’un coup, en se soulevant, fascinant.

Les questions qui préoccupent Maya Bösch concernent le rapport qu’on entretient avec l’image : la coproduction entre image et spectateur. Comment est-ce que la photographie manipule-t-elle, l’expérience et le réel? Qui est producteur de la douleur et de la mémoire ? L’image ou le spectateur, ou les deux ? Une autre question indispensable au processus de création : Comment photographier la mémoire ? Christian Lutz ne capturait pas seulement des images de répétition et du tournage, mais s’aventurait davantage à parcourir les paysages, les chemins, collines et routes qui mènent de Gibellina Nuova à Gibellina Vecchia (environ 11 km de distance entre les deux villages), et au «Grande Cretto» : errer parmi les ruines, la tragédie, sentir l’échec et l’utopie des temps révolus. Il s’agit de jouer, mélanger, délocaliser, inverser, se distancer, perturber, ... de créer des visions et du déplacement. Cette installation joue sur la perception du visiteur et sur son rapport à la photographie. Qu’est-ce qui se dessine quand il est loin de l’image, qu’est-ce qui se passe quand il est tout près. Qu’est-ce qu’une image et qu’est-ce qui est derrière ? Où finit la photographie et où commence la sienne ? Est-ce que ce qu’il voit est réel ou imaginé ? Quelle est l’histoire d’une image ? Quel est son futur, son ombre, son empreinte ? Gibellina se présente devant le visiteur comme un territoire utopique, comme une architecture de rêve, fantomatique.


Fiche d'artiste

Maya Bösch * 1973 à Zürich, vit à Genève

« Explosion of Memories » est une exposition qui mêle différentes formes et pratiques artistiques : cinéma, installation, performance, son, écriture et photographie.

S’emparant du Commun et du CPG comme un espace uni, Maya Bösch se propose de mettre en scène les pièces d’une exposition qui rassemble : son premier film, une série d’installations sonores, visuelles, et plastiques, pour tenter d’évoquer la quête de l’impossible réconciliation entre l’e [...]

« Explosion of Memories » est une exposition qui mêle différentes formes et pratiques artistiques : cinéma, installation, performance, son, écriture et photographie.

S’emparant du Commun et du CPG comme un espace uni, Maya Bösch se propose de mettre en scène les pièces d’une exposition qui rassemble : son premier film, une série d’installations sonores, visuelles, et plastiques, pour tenter d’évoquer la quête de l’impossible réconciliation entre l’espace aliénant du présent et celui, rêvé, explosé de la mémoire.

À l’origine du projet, il y a cette rencontre en 2014 entre Maya et Gibellina, un village rural sicilien détruit par un tremblement de terre en 1968. Puis aussi avec Nicolo Stabile, producteur italien, enfant né à Gibellina peu d’années avant le tremblement de terre, qui a conduit l’équipe artistique sur ces nouveaux lieux de mémoire. Mais qu’est-ce que la mémoire et comment se crée t-elle ? La mémoire est-elle toujours collective, tragique ? Ce qui intéresse Maya Bösch, ce n’est pas la mémoire en tant que boîte noire qui enregistre les différentes informations aléatoires du système, mais la mémoire en tant que évènement physique qui surgit d’un coup : « Elle transperce de manière violente, entre deux instants, deux images, deux sons, deux émotions, dans la fente mentale comme une apparition ». La mémoire déchire le temps en plusieurs séquences. Elle devient aussi présente, que palpable, une force qui entrechoque, surprend puis se pose ensuite comme corps, geste ou langage sur les ruines du réel. «Explosion of Memories» est cette expérience quand la mémoire frappe.

 

Installation Photographies : PHOTORAMA GIBELLINA , Premier étage du Commun

Photographies de Christian Lutz prises lors du tournage du film à Gibellina en 2016. Espace plongé dans une pénombre, structuré par le graphique d’une vingtaine de faisceaux lumineux qui tranchent et rythment l’espace. Au bout, à l’horizon, des photographies, à peine visible, apparaissent comme des phénomènes optiques, des mirages. Une vingtaine de photographies  sont au mur dans trois formats d’exposition différents, sur les murs au fond de la salle, à l’opposé de l’arrivée de l’escalier. Des images de paysages dans la brume, au crépuscule, dans la nuit, des territoires sans humain, des fragments, extraits, fêlures. Un no man’s land d’une beauté pittoresque, apparait d’un coup, en se soulevant, fascinant.

Les questions qui préoccupent Maya Bösch concernent le rapport qu’on entretient avec l’image : la coproduction entre image et spectateur. Comment est-ce que la photographie manipule-t-elle, l’expérience et le réel? Qui est producteur de la douleur et de la mémoire ? L’image ou le spectateur, ou les deux ? Une autre question indispensable au processus de création : Comment photographier la mémoire ? Christian Lutz ne capturait pas seulement des images de répétition et du tournage, mais s’aventurait davantage à parcourir les paysages, les chemins, collines et routes qui mènent de Gibellina Nuova à Gibellina Vecchia (environ 11 km de distance entre les deux villages), et au «Grande Cretto» : errer parmi les ruines, la tragédie, sentir l’échec et l’utopie des temps révolus. Il s’agit de jouer, mélanger, délocaliser, inverser, se distancer, perturber, ... de créer des visions et du déplacement. Cette installation joue sur la perception du visiteur et sur son rapport à la photographie. Qu’est-ce qui se dessine quand il est loin de l’image, qu’est-ce qui se passe quand il est tout près. Qu’est-ce qu’une image et qu’est-ce qui est derrière ? Où finit la photographie et où commence la sienne ? Est-ce que ce qu’il voit est réel ou imaginé ? Quelle est l’histoire d’une image ? Quel est son futur, son ombre, son empreinte ? Gibellina se présente devant le visiteur comme un territoire utopique, comme une architecture de rêve, fantomatique.

En relation