Marcelo Brodsky
INTERNATIONAL VISUAL ACTION IN SOLIDARITY WITH THE VICTIMS OF AYOTZINAPA

12.10 — 12.11.2017

Through the display of 24 photographs on the prestigious quai du Mont-Blanc, the artist Marcelo Brodsky’s work with the CPG on the public domain of the City of Geneva aims to draw attention to missing students of AYOTZINAA in 2014 in Mexico, during the October 2017 session of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, in partnership with the International Film Festival and Forum on Human Rights (FIFDH).

 

 

Vernissage: 12.10.2017 12:00

Affichage sur le quai du Mont-Blanc, en face de l’Hôtel Beau Rivage

En partenariat avec le FIFDH

In 1984 Marcelo Brodsky (*1954, Buenos Aires) found a school photograph of his class among his family’s possessions in Buenos Aires when he returned from Barcelona where he had spent seven years in exile, on the run from the military dictatorship (1976 – 1984). On the photograph dating from 1967, the artist has made notes about his then school friends at the Collegio Nacional of Buenos Aires. the face of his best friend Martin is scored through, as are those of two other friends. They we [...]

In 1984 Marcelo Brodsky (*1954, Buenos Aires) found a school photograph of his class among his family’s possessions in Buenos Aires when he returned from Barcelona where he had spent seven years in exile, on the run from the military dictatorship (1976 – 1984). On the photograph dating from 1967, the artist has made notes about his then school friends at the Collegio Nacional of Buenos Aires. the face of his best friend Martin is scored through, as are those of two other friends. They were seized and imprisoned by the military, as was his brother Fernando, reported definitively missing, like a further 30,000 argentinean citizens, or even more. That is the state crime the Buena Memoria series (presented at the Centre de la Photographie Genève in 2010 as part of the exhibition La revanche de l’archive photographique) conjures up from a school photograph, a series that brought the artist worldwide recognition. He is currently taking part in Biennale de Lyon.

Following the disappearance of 43 students from the AYOTINAPA rural teachers’ college who were going to Iguala to take part in a demonstration against the central mexican state in september 2014, Marcelo Brodsky launched an international appeal, primarily addressed to art schools, urging them to fight with a school photograph for the memory of the missing AYOTINAPA students. according to Wikipedia, the local police intercepted the students on their journey, and a confrontation ensued. The details of what happened remain hazy, but the official investigation concluded that once the students had been taken into custody they were handed over the “guerreros unidos”, a local mafia group, then killed. The final count was 27 injured, 6 dead, and 43 missing. That massacre which rapidly became a national scandal as it revealed the links between the local authorities and a death squad triggered a worldwide press campaign.


Artist file

Marcelo Brodsky * 1954 in Buenos Aires, lives in Buenos Aires et São Paulo

In 1984 Marcelo Brodsky (*1954, Buenos Aires) found a school photograph of his class among his family’s possessions in Buenos Aires when he returned from Barcelona where he had spent seven years in exile, on the run from the military dictatorship (1976 – 1984). On the photograph dating from 1967, the artist has made notes about his then school friends at the Collegio Nacional of Buenos Aires. the face of his best friend Martin is scored through, as are those of two other friends. They we [...]

In 1984 Marcelo Brodsky (*1954, Buenos Aires) found a school photograph of his class among his family’s possessions in Buenos Aires when he returned from Barcelona where he had spent seven years in exile, on the run from the military dictatorship (1976 – 1984). On the photograph dating from 1967, the artist has made notes about his then school friends at the Collegio Nacional of Buenos Aires. the face of his best friend Martin is scored through, as are those of two other friends. They were seized and imprisoned by the military, as was his brother Fernando, reported definitively missing, like a further 30,000 argentinean citizens, or even more. That is the state crime the Buena Memoria series (presented at the Centre de la Photographie Genève in 2010 as part of the exhibition La revanche de l’archive photographique) conjures up from a school photograph, a series that brought the artist worldwide recognition. He is currently taking part in Biennale de Lyon.

Following the disappearance of 43 students from the AYOTINAPA rural teachers’ college who were going to Iguala to take part in a demonstration against the central mexican state in september 2014, Marcelo Brodsky launched an international appeal, primarily addressed to art schools, urging them to fight with a school photograph for the memory of the missing AYOTINAPA students. according to Wikipedia, the local police intercepted the students on their journey, and a confrontation ensued. The details of what happened remain hazy, but the official investigation concluded that once the students had been taken into custody they were handed over the “guerreros unidos”, a local mafia group, then killed. The final count was 27 injured, 6 dead, and 43 missing. That massacre which rapidly became a national scandal as it revealed the links between the local authorities and a death squad triggered a worldwide press campaign.


Exhibition view

Related content

Marcelo Brodsky
ACTION VISUELLE INTERNATIONALE EN SOLIDARITÉ AVEC LES VICTIMES DE AYOTZINAPA

12.10 — 12.11.2017

L’action de l’artiste Marcelo Brodsky, avec le CPG, sur le domaine public de la Ville de Genève vise, par l’affichage de 24 photographies sur le prestigieux quai du Mont-Blanc, à attirer l’attention sur les étudiants disparus de AYOTZINAA en 2014 au Mexique, pendant la session en octobre 2017 du Haut-Commissariat des Nations-Unies aux droits de l’homme, en partenariat avec le Festival du Film et Forum International sur les Droits Humains (FIFDH).

Vernissage: 12.10.2017 12:00

Affichage sur le quai du Mont-Blanc, en face de l’Hôtel Beau Rivage

En partenariat avec le FIFDH

Marcelo Brodsky (*1954, Buenos Aires) retrouve une photographie de classe en 1984 dans l’archive familiale à Buenos Aires à son retour de Barcelone, où il a passé sept ans en exil, fuyant la dictature militaire (1976 – 1984). Sur la photographie datant de 1967, l’artiste a laissé des annotations sur ses camarades d’antan au Collegio Nacional de Buenos Aires. Le visage de son meilleur ami Martin est barré de même que celui de deux autres camarades. Ils ont été séquestrés pa [...]

Marcelo Brodsky (*1954, Buenos Aires) retrouve une photographie de classe en 1984 dans l’archive familiale à Buenos Aires à son retour de Barcelone, où il a passé sept ans en exil, fuyant la dictature militaire (1976 – 1984). Sur la photographie datant de 1967, l’artiste a laissé des annotations sur ses camarades d’antan au Collegio Nacional de Buenos Aires. Le visage de son meilleur ami Martin est barré de même que celui de deux autres camarades. Ils ont été séquestrés par les militaires, comme l’a été son frère Fernando, porté disparu pour toujours ainsi que 30’000 autres citoyens argentins, voire plus. C’est ce crime d’état que la série Buena Memoria (présentée au Centre de la Photographie Genève en 2010 dans l’exposition La revanche de l’archive photographique) évoque à partir d’une photo de classe et qui a rendu l’artiste mondialement connu. Il participe actuellement à la Biennale de Lyon.

À la suite de la disparition des 43 étudiants, de l’école normale rurale AYOTINAPA, qui se rendaient à Iguala pour une manifestation contre l’état mexicain central en septembre 2014, Marcelo Brodsky a lancé un appel international, principalement aux écoles d’arts, afin qu’elles luttent avec une photographie de classe pour la mémoire des disparus d’AYOTINAPA. Selon Wikipédia, la police locale a intercepté les étudiants pendant leur voyage et une confrontation s’en est suivie. Les détails de ce qui s’est passé restent flous, mais l’enquête officielle a conclu qu’une fois que les étudiants se sont retrouvés en garde à vue, ils furent remis aux « guerreros unidos», un groupe mafieux local, puis tués. Le bilan fut de 27 blessés, 6 morts et 43 disparus. Ce massacre, vite devenu un scandale national révélant les relations entre pouvoir local et escadrons de la mort, avait déclenché une campagne de presse mondiale.

 

 


Fiche d'artiste

Marcelo Brodsky * 1954 à Buenos Aires, vit à Buenos Aires et São Paulo

Marcelo Brodsky (*1954, Buenos Aires) retrouve une photographie de classe en 1984 dans l’archive familiale à Buenos Aires à son retour de Barcelone, où il a passé sept ans en exil, fuyant la dictature militaire (1976 – 1984). Sur la photographie datant de 1967, l’artiste a laissé des annotations sur ses camarades d’antan au Collegio Nacional de Buenos Aires. Le visage de son meilleur ami Martin est barré de même que celui de deux autres camarades. Ils ont été séquestrés pa [...]

Marcelo Brodsky (*1954, Buenos Aires) retrouve une photographie de classe en 1984 dans l’archive familiale à Buenos Aires à son retour de Barcelone, où il a passé sept ans en exil, fuyant la dictature militaire (1976 – 1984). Sur la photographie datant de 1967, l’artiste a laissé des annotations sur ses camarades d’antan au Collegio Nacional de Buenos Aires. Le visage de son meilleur ami Martin est barré de même que celui de deux autres camarades. Ils ont été séquestrés par les militaires, comme l’a été son frère Fernando, porté disparu pour toujours ainsi que 30’000 autres citoyens argentins, voire plus. C’est ce crime d’état que la série Buena Memoria (présentée au Centre de la Photographie Genève en 2010 dans l’exposition La revanche de l’archive photographique) évoque à partir d’une photo de classe et qui a rendu l’artiste mondialement connu. Il participe actuellement à la Biennale de Lyon.

À la suite de la disparition des 43 étudiants, de l’école normale rurale AYOTINAPA, qui se rendaient à Iguala pour une manifestation contre l’état mexicain central en septembre 2014, Marcelo Brodsky a lancé un appel international, principalement aux écoles d’arts, afin qu’elles luttent avec une photographie de classe pour la mémoire des disparus d’AYOTINAPA. Selon Wikipédia, la police locale a intercepté les étudiants pendant leur voyage et une confrontation s’en est suivie. Les détails de ce qui s’est passé restent flous, mais l’enquête officielle a conclu qu’une fois que les étudiants se sont retrouvés en garde à vue, ils furent remis aux « guerreros unidos», un groupe mafieux local, puis tués. Le bilan fut de 27 blessés, 6 morts et 43 disparus. Ce massacre, vite devenu un scandale national révélant les relations entre pouvoir local et escadrons de la mort, avait déclenché une campagne de presse mondiale.

 

 


Vue d'exposition

En relation