ça c’est genève ! THIS IS GVA !
ALAIN JULLIARD, FRANCIS TRAUNIG, FRANÇOIS VERMOT

28.02 — 13.05.2018

The exhibition ‘ça c’est genève!  THIS IS GVA’ presents three photographers from French-speaking Switzerland, including two from Geneva, who have taken a closer look at Geneva in recent years.

They are therefore not commands and the angles of attack chosen by Alain Julliard, Francis Traunig and François Vermot draw our attention to places that we rarely visit (apart from those working in the International Geneva) or only by car or to which we simply do not pay attention.

That’s Geneva! THIS IS GVA !’ is part of the exhibitions exploring the city or region as proposed by the CPG. In the past with “Quoi de 9/11 photographers de l’arc lémanique” in 2002, “Jeunevois” in 2008 and “Cherche appartement” in 2013

Vernissage: 27.02.2018 18:00

SATURDAY 12 MAY at 11am

BOOK LAUNCH WITH BRUNCH

WITH NOTABLY “PALAIS DES NATIONS” FRANÇOIS VERMOT, CPG EDITIONS

Curator: Joerg Bader

Vernissages on February 27th joint with MAMCO

Francis Traunig / François Vermot / Alain Julliard /

Alain Julliard

Even though Alain Julliard (*1959) photographs the most frequented places in the city centre, he still manages to give us a representation far from the postcard by insisting on the gaps in the squares or by photographing a covered place, putting the city in the background. Popular districts such as the Junction, Plainpalais or Rive often appear with closer scennettes and more outlying districts appear in the autumn fog. Alain Julliard has compiled a complete inventory o [...]

Alain Julliard

Even though Alain Julliard (*1959) photographs the most frequented places in the city centre, he still manages to give us a representation far from the postcard by insisting on the gaps in the squares or by photographing a covered place, putting the city in the background. Popular districts such as the Junction, Plainpalais or Rive often appear with closer scennettes and more outlying districts appear in the autumn fog. Alain Julliard has compiled a complete inventory of the city, going as far as the motorway contours, without forgetting the magnificent parks, inherited from the great Geneva bourgeoisie.

Francis Traunig

Francis Traunig (*1954) has compiled an inventory of the interfaces that separate the houses from the street but allow us to have a glimpse of the interior, i.e. the windows and other fronts of commercial spaces that are called, in Geneva, in such an elegant word and that always remind us of Bern, Turin or Venice: Arcade. The result is most surprising with a pinch of humour that we know so well to the author. One of his works that made him known in the world of photography was a series of portraits of the inhabitants of the Pâquis district inside an arcade, in front of the walls filled with jackets and other clothing from the arcade that the photographer manages in Geneva.

Taking as a frame for his photography the frame of the window at the risk of sometimes being reflected in it, the windows create screens and generally prevent any depth. The commercial showcase as a place to display merchandise was poetically theorized by Walter Benjamin in his unfinished work Das Passagenwerk and Francis Traunig's proposal can also be seen as a continuation of the group exhibition at the 2015 CPG Commodity Fetishism. Francis Traunig had already exhibited at the CPG, among other things, in 2002 with another theme specific to Geneva: its inhabitants possessing a weapon.

François Vermot

François Vermont (*1988), a Fribourger by adoption born in the canton of Neuchâtel, had the excellent idea of fixing the interiors of the Palais des Nations in pictures before his youthful coup planned for the coming years. Built between 1929 and 1937 by five architects because the jury was unable to select a single winner. Raised and partially enlarged between 1950 and 1952 and completed with a conference room between 1968 and 1973, the building is an architectural patchwork and François Vermot makes it look good. His attentive gaze captures the different eras that are being grafted on, the wear and tear of the place over time, the furniture of different eras that sometimes gives signs of fatigue. Not renovated since its construction, the site was started in March 2017 and is expected to be completed in 2023.

The "Palais des Nations" will be accompanied by a publication with the same title and published by the editions of the Centre de la photographie Genève and the Zurich-based publisher Scheidegger& Spiess. Michael Moller, Director General of the UN Geneva, will write a preface and a day of conferences on building and international organization will be held in March 2017.


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

Exhibition view

Related content

ça c’est genève ! THIS IS GVA !
ALAIN JULLIARD, FRANCIS TRAUNIG, FRANÇOIS VERMOT

28.02 — 13.05.2018

L’exposition ‘ça c’est genève!  THIS IS GVA !’ présente trois photographes romands, dont deux genevois, qui ont porté, ces dernières années, un regard spécifique Genève.

Ce ne sont donc pas des commandes et les angles d’attaque choisi par Alain Julliard, Francis Traunig et François Vermot attirent notre attention sur des lieux que nous fréquentons peu (mis à part les personnes travaillant au sein de la Genève Internationale) ou seulement en voiture ou auxquels nous ne prêtons tout simplement pas attention.

‘ça c’est genève! THIS IS GVA !’ s’inscrit dans les expositions explorant la ville ou la région tel que le CPG en avait propos. dans le passé avec ‘Quoi de 9/11 photographes de l’arc lémanique’ en 2002, ‘Jeunevois’ en 2008 et ‘Cherche appartement’ en 2013

Vernissage: 27.02.2018 18:00

SAMEDI 12 MAI À 11h

BOOK LAUNCH AVEC BRUNCH

AVEC NOTAMMENT ‘PALAIS DES NATIONS’ FRANÇOIS VERMOT, ÉDITIONS CPG

 

Curateur : Joerg Bader

 

Vernissages le 27 février communs avec le MAMCO

 

 

Francis Traunig / François Vermot / Alain Julliard /

Alain Julliard

Même si Alain Julliard (*1959) photographie au centre de la ville les lieux les plus fréquentés, il arrive à nous donner une représentation loin de la carte postale en insistant sur les vides béants des places ou en photographiant d’un lieux couvert, mettant la ville au second plan. Les quartiers populaires comme la Jonction, Plainpalais ou Rive figurent souvent avec des scennettes plus rapproch.es et les quartiers plus excentrés apparaiss [...]

Alain Julliard

Même si Alain Julliard (*1959) photographie au centre de la ville les lieux les plus fréquentés, il arrive à nous donner une représentation loin de la carte postale en insistant sur les vides béants des places ou en photographiant d’un lieux couvert, mettant la ville au second plan. Les quartiers populaires comme la Jonction, Plainpalais ou Rive figurent souvent avec des scennettes plus rapproch.es et les quartiers plus excentrés apparaissent dans le brouillard d’automne. Alain Julliard a réussi un inventaire complet de la ville, allant jusqu’aux contours autoroutiers, sans oublier les parcs magnifiques, héritages de la grande bourgeoisie genevoise.

 

 

Francis Traunig

Francis Traunig (*1954) a réussi un inventaire des interfaces qui sépare les maisons de la rue mais qui permettent d’avoir un aperçu de l’intérieur, c’est à dire les vitrines et autres devantures d’espaces commerciaux qu’on appelle, à Genève, d’un mot si élégant et qui fait toujours penser à Berne, Turin ou Venise : Arcade. Le résultat est des plus surprenant avec une pince d’humour que nous connaissons si bien à l’auteur. Un des ses travaux qui l’a fait connaître de le milieu de la photographie était une série réalisée à l’intérieur d’une arcade, des portraits des habitants du quartier des Pâquis devant les murs remplis de vestes et d’autres vêtements de l’arcade que le photographe gère à Genève.

Prenant comme cadre pour sa photographie le cadre de la vitrine au risque parfois de s’y refléter, les vitrines font écrans et empêchent en général toute profondeur. La vitrine commerciale comme lieu d’exposition de la marchandise a été théorisé poétiquement par Walter Benjamin dans son oeuvre inachevée Das Passagenwerk et la proposition de Francis Traunig peut aussi être vue comme une continuation de l’exposition de groupe au CPG de 2015 Fétichisme de marchandise. Francis Traunig avait déjà exposé au CPG, entre autre, en 2002 avec un autre thème propre à Genève : ses habitants possédant une arme.

 

François Vermot

François Vermont (*1988), Fribourgeois d’adoption né dans le canton de Neuchâtel, a eu l’excellente idée de fixer en image les intérieurs du Palais des Nations avant son coup de jeunesse prévu dans les années à venir. Construit entre 1929 et 1937 par cinq architectes par faute du jury d’avoir pu désigner un seul lauréat. Rehaussé et agrandi partiellement entre 1950 et 1952 et complété d’une salle de conférence entre 1968 et 1973, le bâtiment est un patchwork architectural et François Vermot le rend bien. Son regard attentif capte les différentes époques qui se greffent, l’usure par le temps des lieux, le mobilier de différentes époques qui, parfois, donne des signes de fatigue. Jamais rénové depuis sa construction, le chantier a été mis en marche en mars 2017 et devrait être achevé en 2023.

'Palais des Nations' sera accompagné d’une publication avec le même titre et édité par les éditions du Centre de la photographie Genève et l’éditeur zurichois Scheidegger& Spiess. Michael Moller, directeur général de l’ONU Genève écrira une préface et une journée de conférences, ayant trait au bâtiment et à l’organisation internationale, aura lieu en mars 2017.


Soutiens

Avec le généreux soutien de(s) partenaire(s) suivant(s)

En relation