Artist file


Viktoria Binschtok * 1972 in Moscou, lives in Berlin

Viktoria Binschtok studied with Timm Rautert in Leipzig. She featured in his Meisterklasseshow of 2006, then in the 2016 exhibition Caméra(auto)contrôle, both at the CPG. She has developed a fascinating skein of confusion between digital reality and analogue virtuality while at the same time questioning our customary ways of perceiving. In her work Viktoria Binschtok questions the medium and its codes. She starts from the acknowledgement that a photograph is not a representation of realit [...]

Viktoria Binschtok studied with Timm Rautert in Leipzig. She featured in his Meisterklasseshow of 2006, then in the 2016 exhibition Caméra(auto)contrôle, both at the CPG. She has developed a fascinating skein of confusion between digital reality and analogue virtuality while at the same time questioning our customary ways of perceiving. In her work Viktoria Binschtok questions the medium and its codes. She starts from the acknowledgement that a photograph is not a representation of reality, just a reference. In 2002, for example, she was buying globes on the internet and exhibiting them in their shipping carton while showing only photos of the globes that are posted on eBay. With World as a Detail, she continues to make use of the internet, Google Street View to be precise, as her prime purveyor of images. Countering the platitude of downloaded images, which she enlarges as black-and-white prints in the usual format of street photography, Binschtok goes to the very site in question to lend her shots a depth that bears no comparison with Google Street View images.

She literally materialises the incessant flow of Internet pictures by reconstructing an online image into a high-resolution version, as in the Networked Imagesseries to which Legs and Knives belongs. This photomontage is broken down into four vertical representations. The two central elements, showing legs clad in fishnet stockings, are adjoined on either side by scaled-up Internet pictures of box cutters, a handle repeating the same motif as the stockings.

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Viktoria Binschtok * 1972 à Moscou, vit à Berlin

Viktoria Binschtok a étudié chez Timm Rautert à Leipzig. Elle figurait dans l’exposition de sa Meisterklasseprésentée en 2006, puis dans l’exposition Caméra(auto)contrôle en 2016, toutes deux au CPG. Elle a développé un fascinant jeu d’embrouille entre réalité digitale et virtualité analogique tout en questionnant nos habitudes de perception. Viktoria Binschtok part du constat qu’une photographie n’est pas une représentation de la réalité, mais jus [...]

Viktoria Binschtok a étudié chez Timm Rautert à Leipzig. Elle figurait dans l’exposition de sa Meisterklasseprésentée en 2006, puis dans l’exposition Caméra(auto)contrôle en 2016, toutes deux au CPG. Elle a développé un fascinant jeu d’embrouille entre réalité digitale et virtualité analogique tout en questionnant nos habitudes de perception. Viktoria Binschtok part du constat qu’une photographie n’est pas une représentation de la réalité, mais juste une référence. En 2002 déjà, elle achetait sur Internet des globes et les exposait dans leur carton d’envoi tout en ne montrant que leurs photos parues sur eBay. Avec World as a Detail, elle continue à se servir d’Internet, plus précisément de Google Street View, comme premier fournisseur d’images. En allant à l’encontre de la platitude des photographies téléchargées, qu’elle agrandit en noir-blanc au format habituel de la street photography, elle se rend par la suite sur le lieu même pour en faire sa propre image et donne à ses clichés une profondeur sans comparaison avec ceux de Google Street View.

Elle matérialise littéralement le flux d’images incessant d’internet, en reconstruisant matériellement une image trouvée en ligne pour obtenir une version en haute résolution. C’est le cas avec la série Networked Images, à laquelle Legs and Knives appartient. Il s’agit d’un photomontage décomposé en quatre images verticales. Les deux parties centrales représentant des jambes vêtues de bas résille sont prolongées, par le truchement d’un jeu d’échelle, par des images latérales trouvées sur internet et représentant des cutters, dont le manche reprend le même motif que les bas.

 

En relation