LATOYA RUBY FRAZIER

12.02 — 18.03.2020

In collaboration with MUDAM Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Vernissage: 11.02.2020 18:00

LaToya Ruby Frazier is one of the most influential photographers of her generation. Since the early 2000s, the Pittsburgh-born African-American artist has been developing a documentary practice that is both personal and militant, in touch with the social, political and economic realities of contemporary American society.

Produced between 2001 and 2014 around three generations of women - her grandmother, her mother and herself - the ambitious series that made her famous, The Notion [...]

LaToya Ruby Frazier is one of the most influential photographers of her generation. Since the early 2000s, the Pittsburgh-born African-American artist has been developing a documentary practice that is both personal and militant, in touch with the social, political and economic realities of contemporary American society.

Produced between 2001 and 2014 around three generations of women - her grandmother, her mother and herself - the ambitious series that made her famous, The Notion of Family, bears witness to the decline of Braddock, a suburb of Pittsburgh in Pennsylvania and former steel capital, which has become a ghost town. From individual experiences, the artist brings out a collective African-American history and issues of universal significance. "Braddock is everywhere," she says.

The Notion Of Family will be accompanied by two recent series that extend her focus on the working classes and the relationship between personal life and social and political issues. The first, On the Making of Steel Genesis: Sandra Gould Ford (2017), is the result of a close collaboration with Sandra Gould Ford, an African-American photographer and writer who worked in the Pittsburgh steel industry and documented life in the factories and their closure in many ways. The second, Et des terrils un arbre s'élèvera (2016-2017), is the result of an ambitious project carried out in the Borinage region near Mons, Belgium, with former miners and their families.

 


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

LaToya Ruby Frazier

12.02 — 18.03.2020

En collaboration avec MUDAM Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Vernissage: 11.02.2020 18:00

LaToya Ruby Frazier est une des photographes les plus marquantes de sa génération. Depuis le début des années 2000, l’artiste afro-américaine, née à Pittsburgh, développe une pratique documentaire à la fois personnelle et militante, en prise avec les réalités sociales, politiques et économiques de la société américaine contemporaine.

Réalisée entre 2001 et 2014 autour de trois générations de femmes – sa grand-mère, sa mère et elle-même –, l’ambitieuse s [...]

LaToya Ruby Frazier est une des photographes les plus marquantes de sa génération. Depuis le début des années 2000, l’artiste afro-américaine, née à Pittsburgh, développe une pratique documentaire à la fois personnelle et militante, en prise avec les réalités sociales, politiques et économiques de la société américaine contemporaine.

Réalisée entre 2001 et 2014 autour de trois générations de femmes – sa grand-mère, sa mère et elle-même –, l’ambitieuse série qui l’a fait connaître, The Notion of Family, témoigne du déclin de Braddock, banlieue de Pittsburgh en Pennsylvanie et ancienne capitale de l’acier, devenue ville fantôme. À partir d’expériences individuelles, l’artiste fait émerger une histoire collective afro-américaine et des problématiques de portée universelle. « Braddock est partout », dit-elle.

Autour de The Notion Of Family, se déploieront deux séries récentes prolongeant l’attention qu’elle porte aux classes ouvrières et à l’articulation entre vie personnelle et enjeux sociaux et politiques. La première, On the Making of Steel Genesis: Sandra Gould Ford (2017), est le fruit d’une étroite collaboration avec Sandra Gould Ford, photographe et écrivain afro-américain, qui fut employée dans l’industrie sidérurgique à Pittsburgh et documenta de multiples manières la vie dans les usines et leur fermeture. La seconde, Et des terrils un arbre s’élèvera (2016-2017), résulte quant à elle d’un ambitieux projet réalisé dans le Borinage, près de Mons, en Belgique, avec d’anciens mineurs et leurs familles.


Soutiens

Avec le généreux soutien de(s) partenaire(s) suivant(s)