Jean-Charles Massera – Attentional Transition volet 1 : « Burial of Power ».

04.12.2019 — 02.02.2020

Vernissage: 03.12.2019 18:00

Légende image :

© Jean-Charles Massera, Sans titre, 2019

 

Attention Transition Part 1: "The Burial of Power" is emerging as a new exhibition in Switzerland. Jean-Charles Massera's practice has recently turned more and more towards the association of texts and images, starting with writing. Interested by this approach, the curator and director of the Geneva Centre of Photography, Joerg Bader, wanted to invite this multi-talented artist, who is sensitive to both literature and contemporary art issues. The deconstruction of the language in his works, [...]

Attention Transition Part 1: "The Burial of Power" is emerging as a new exhibition in Switzerland. Jean-Charles Massera's practice has recently turned more and more towards the association of texts and images, starting with writing. Interested by this approach, the curator and director of the Geneva Centre of Photography, Joerg Bader, wanted to invite this multi-talented artist, who is sensitive to both literature and contemporary art issues. The deconstruction of the language in his works, the criticism of the current language of advertising and mass media and the associations he creates between the banality of these images and that of texts are both insignificant and deeply meaningful. No clash, no conflict, no authority relationship in these productions of Jean-Charles Massera: on the contrary, it is the soft mass of the ambient ideology that is highlighted. It is for this critical thinking and this original mixed work that the Centre de la photographie Genève presents a major monographic exhibition of the artist, which will focus on works that combine photography and writing, and will also show some videos

 


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

Artist file

Jean-Charles Massera * 1965 in Mantes-la-Jolie, lives in Paris et Berlin

Attention Transition Part 1: "The Burial of Power" is emerging as a new exhibition in Switzerland. Jean-Charles Massera's practice has recently turned more and more towards the association of texts and images, starting with writing. Interested by this approach, the curator and director of the Geneva Centre of Photography, Joerg Bader, wanted to invite this multi-talented artist, who is sensitive to both literature and contemporary art issues. The deconstruction of the language in his works, [...]

Attention Transition Part 1: "The Burial of Power" is emerging as a new exhibition in Switzerland. Jean-Charles Massera's practice has recently turned more and more towards the association of texts and images, starting with writing. Interested by this approach, the curator and director of the Geneva Centre of Photography, Joerg Bader, wanted to invite this multi-talented artist, who is sensitive to both literature and contemporary art issues. The deconstruction of the language in his works, the criticism of the current language of advertising and mass media and the associations he creates between the banality of these images and that of texts are both insignificant and deeply meaningful. No clash, no conflict, no authority relationship in these productions of Jean-Charles Massera: on the contrary, it is the soft mass of the ambient ideology that is highlighted. It is for this critical thinking and this original mixed work that the Centre de la photographie Genève presents a major monographic exhibition of the artist, which will focus on works that combine photography and writing, and will also show some videos

 


Exhibition view

Related content

Jean-Charles Massera – Transition attentionnelle volet 1 : « L’enfouissement de la puissance »

04.12.2019 — 02.02.2020

Vernissage: 03.12.2019 18:00

Légende image :

Projections Années Zéro (Série de 15 images – Affichage dans l’espace public de Villeurbanne – 2010. Production : IAC Villeurbanne/Rhône-Alpes) © Jean-Charles Massera

 

Transition attentionnelle volet 1 : « L’enfouissement de la puissance »se dessine comme une exposition inédite en Suisse. La pratique de Jean-Charles Massera s’est récemment tournée et de plus en plus, partant de l’écriture, vers l’association de textes et d’images. Intéressé par cette démarche, le curateur et directeur du Centre de la photographie Genève, Joerg Bader, a souhaité inviter cet artiste aux talents multiples, sensible aux enjeux de la littératur [...]

Transition attentionnelle volet 1 : « L’enfouissement de la puissance »se dessine comme une exposition inédite en Suisse. La pratique de Jean-Charles Massera s’est récemment tournée et de plus en plus, partant de l’écriture, vers l’association de textes et d’images. Intéressé par cette démarche, le curateur et directeur du Centre de la photographie Genève, Joerg Bader, a souhaité inviter cet artiste aux talents multiples, sensible aux enjeux de la littérature et tout à la fois de l’art contemporain. Le travail de déconstruction du langage qu’opèrent en effet ses œuvres, la critique du langage courant de la publicité et des médias de masse et les associations que l’artiste crée entre la banalité de ces images et celle des textes sont tout à la fois insignifiantes et lourdes de sens. Pas de clash, pas de conflit, pas de rapport d’autorité dans ces productions de Jean-Charles Massera : c’est bien au contraire la masse molle de l’idéologie ambiante qui est mise en exergue. C’est pour ce sens critique et ce travail mixte inédit que le Centre de la photographie Genève présente une grande exposition monographique de l’artiste, qui privilégiera les travaux qui associent photographie et écriture, et montrera également quelques vidéos.

 


Fiche d'artiste

Jean-Charles Massera * 1965 à Mantes-la-Jolie, vit à Paris et Berlin

Transition attentionnelle volet 1 : « L’enfouissement de la puissance »se dessine comme une exposition inédite en Suisse. La pratique de Jean-Charles Massera s’est récemment tournée et de plus en plus, partant de l’écriture, vers l’association de textes et d’images. Intéressé par cette démarche, le curateur et directeur du Centre de la photographie Genève, Joerg Bader, a souhaité inviter cet artiste aux talents multiples, sensible aux enjeux de la littératur [...]

Transition attentionnelle volet 1 : « L’enfouissement de la puissance »se dessine comme une exposition inédite en Suisse. La pratique de Jean-Charles Massera s’est récemment tournée et de plus en plus, partant de l’écriture, vers l’association de textes et d’images. Intéressé par cette démarche, le curateur et directeur du Centre de la photographie Genève, Joerg Bader, a souhaité inviter cet artiste aux talents multiples, sensible aux enjeux de la littérature et tout à la fois de l’art contemporain. Le travail de déconstruction du langage qu’opèrent en effet ses œuvres, la critique du langage courant de la publicité et des médias de masse et les associations que l’artiste crée entre la banalité de ces images et celle des textes sont tout à la fois insignifiantes et lourdes de sens. Pas de clash, pas de conflit, pas de rapport d’autorité dans ces productions de Jean-Charles Massera : c’est bien au contraire la masse molle de l’idéologie ambiante qui est mise en exergue. C’est pour ce sens critique et ce travail mixte inédit que le Centre de la photographie Genève présente une grande exposition monographique de l’artiste, qui privilégiera les travaux qui associent photographie et écriture, et montrera également quelques vidéos.

 

En relation