Alan Bogana & Nicole L’Huillier – Field Work (facilitated by Mónica Bello)
6.30pm

03.07.2019

Artists Alan Bogana (Switzerland) and Nicole L’Huillier (Chile) are participating in the first edition of Simetría, an exchange residency spanning CERN and the Chilean astronomical observatories. Field Works presents material that comprises their explorations at CERN in a discussion facilitated by Mónica Bello, curator and head of Arts at CERN. A theme in Alan Bogana’s art work is the behaviour of light — real and speculative — and his residency research focuses on the conceptualis [...]

Artists Alan Bogana (Switzerland) and Nicole L’Huillier (Chile) are participating in the first edition of Simetría, an exchange residency spanning CERN and the Chilean astronomical observatories. Field Works presents material that comprises their explorations at CERN in a discussion facilitated by Mónica Bello, curator and head of Arts at CERN. A theme in Alan Bogana’s art work is the behaviour of light — real and speculative — and his residency research focuses on the conceptualisation and detection of dark matter. Observation is one of the motifs being explored by Nicole L’Huillier; she inquires into the ghostly natures of both infinitely small particles and large astronomical phenomena. The conversation will provide insights into the way artists gather and evaluate information and experiences during residencies. It will reveal how laboratories and observatories don’t only function as research spaces for scientists; they can also inspire artistic collaborations and innovations.

Simetría is a collaboration between Arts at CERN (https://arts.cern), ALMA (https://www.almaobservatory.org/en/home/), ESO (https://www.eso.org/public/) and the Chilean Corporation of Video and Electronic Arts (http://www.cchv.cl), made possible by support from the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia through its exchange programme COINCIDENCIA (https://coincidencia.net/en/supported-projects/simetria-alain-bogana-nicole-lhuillier/), and the Ministry for Culture, the Arts and Heritage, of Chile through its New Media Area.

Alan Bogana & Nicole L’Huillier – Field Work (animé par Mónica Bello)
18h30

03.07.2019

Les artistes Alan Bogana (Suisse) et Nicole L'Huillier (Chili) participent à la première édition de Simetría, une résidence d'échanges entre le CERN et les observatoires astronomiques du Chili. Field Works présente le matériel de leurs explorations au CERN lors d'une discussion animée par Mónica Bello, conservatrice et responsable des arts au CERN. L'un des thèmes de l'œuvre d'Alan Bogana est le comportement de la lumière - réel et spéculatif - et ses recherches en résidence [...]

Les artistes Alan Bogana (Suisse) et Nicole L'Huillier (Chili) participent à la première édition de Simetría, une résidence d'échanges entre le CERN et les observatoires astronomiques du Chili. Field Works présente le matériel de leurs explorations au CERN lors d'une discussion animée par Mónica Bello, conservatrice et responsable des arts au CERN. L'un des thèmes de l'œuvre d'Alan Bogana est le comportement de la lumière - réel et spéculatif - et ses recherches en résidence portent sur la conceptualisation et la détection de la matière noire. L'observation est l'un des motifs explorés par Nicole L'Huillier, qui s'intéresse à la nature fantomatique des particules infiniment petites et des grands phénomènes astronomiques. Cette conversation donne un aperçu de la façon dont les artistes recueillent et évaluent l'information et les expériences qu’ils partagent pendant les résidences. Il montre que les laboratoires et les observatoires ne fonctionnent pas seulement comme des espaces de recherche pour les scientifiques, mais peuvent aussi inspirer des collaborations et des innovations artistiques.

Simetría est le fruit d'une collaboration entre les services artistiques du CERN (https://arts.cern), de l'ALMA (https://www.almaobservatory.org/en/home/), de l'ESO (https://www.eso.org/public/) et de la Corporation chilienne des arts vidéo et électroniques (http://www.cchv.cl), rendue possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation suisse pour la culture Pro Helvetia, par le biais de son programme d'échanges COINCIDENCIA (https://coincidencia.net/en/supported-projects/simetria-alain-bogana-nicole-lhuillier/) et du Ministère de la Culture, des Arts et du Patrimoine du Chili par son espace nouveaux médias.