Artist file


Philipp Keel * 1968 in Zurich, lives in Zurich

After graduating from the University of Television and Film Munich, Keel moved to Los Angeles. Keel wrote some scripts and continued to do art, but soon found himself overwhelmed and broke. Inspired by Hollywood celebrities who seem to talk about themselves, Keel wrote All About Me, a twenty-five chapter straightforward questionnaire on life and love, designed to help readers deepen their understanding of themselves.

Keel devoted the next decade to his art. During this period, Keel's [...]

After graduating from the University of Television and Film Munich, Keel moved to Los Angeles. Keel wrote some scripts and continued to do art, but soon found himself overwhelmed and broke. Inspired by Hollywood celebrities who seem to talk about themselves, Keel wrote All About Me, a twenty-five chapter straightforward questionnaire on life and love, designed to help readers deepen their understanding of themselves.

Keel devoted the next decade to his art. During this period, Keel's paintings and photographs were exhibited in galleries and museums in Europe and the United States. In an interview on his greatest influences, he said: "Strange as it may seem, most of my inspirations come from Los Angeles. You can find her irony, sadness, absurd beauty and childish naivety in all my work. This is where I think I will always create something new and force myself to overcome the fear of trying something I would be afraid to explore in other hemispheres."

He later worked with artists such as Annie Leibovitz, Richard Avedon, and Helmut Newton.

Attracted to the cinema already while studying piano in Boston, Philipp Keel attended the University of Television and Film (HFF) in Munich and then moved to Los Angeles. He made his first feature film with John Dunkley, a Native American of the Ojibwa tribe. At the age of thirty, his book All About Mewas published. Its successful sales enabled him to become a full-time photographer. While living in LA he went over to working in colour.This city, “with its sad and ironic sides, its absurd beauty and childish naivety,” was to remain his main artistic reference. After the death of his father, Daniel Keel, the founder and owner of the Diogenes publishing house in Zurich, he managed to juggle his inherited duties and his life as an artist, authoring several books published by Steidl. His 1999 diptych Whisper, shown at OSMOSCOSMOS, appeared in his second book, Color.

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Philipp Keel * 1968 à Zurich, vit à Zurich

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme à Université de télévision et de cinéma de Munich, Keel déménage à Los Angeles. Keel a écrit quelques scénarios et a continué à faire de l'art, mais il s'est vite retrouvé submergé et fauché. Inspiré par les célébrités hollywoodiennes qui semblent que parler d'eux mêmes, Keel a écrit All About Me, un questionnaire franc en vingt-cinq chapitres sur la vie et l'amour, conçu pour aider les lecteurs à approfondir leur compréhensi [...]

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme à Université de télévision et de cinéma de Munich, Keel déménage à Los Angeles. Keel a écrit quelques scénarios et a continué à faire de l'art, mais il s'est vite retrouvé submergé et fauché. Inspiré par les célébrités hollywoodiennes qui semblent que parler d'eux mêmes, Keel a écrit All About Me, un questionnaire franc en vingt-cinq chapitres sur la vie et l'amour, conçu pour aider les lecteurs à approfondir leur compréhension d'eux-mêmes.

Keel consacrera la décennie suivante à son art. Au cours de cette période, les peintures et photographies de Keel ont été exposées dans des galeries et musées établis en Europe et aux États-Unis. Dans une interview sur ses plus grandes influences, il a déclaré : "Aussi étrange que cela puisse paraître, la plupart de mes inspirations viennent de Los Angeles. Vous pouvez trouver son ironie, sa tristesse, sa beauté absurde et sa naïveté enfantine dans toute mon œuvre. C'est là que je pense que je vais toujours créer quelque chose de nouveau et me forcer à surmonter la peur d'essayer quelque chose que j'aurais peur d'explorer dans d'autres hémisphères."

Il travaillera par la suite avec des artistes comme Annie Leibovitz, Richard Avedon, and Helmut Newton.

Attiré par le cinéma pendant ses études de piano à Boston, Philipp Keel étudie à la HFF de Munich, puis part s’installer à Los Angeles. Il réalise un premier long métrage avec John Dunkley, un Amérindien Ojibwé. À trente ans, il publie All About Mequi devient un bestseller et lui permet de se consacrer entièrement à la photographie. C’est à Los Angeles qu’il passe à la couleur et cette ville reste sa référence artistique, « avec ses aspects tristes et ironiques, sa beauté absurde et sa naïveté infantile ». Depuis la mort de son père Daniel Keel, fondateur et propriétaire de la maison d’édition Diogenes à Zurich, il parvient à jongler entre l’héritage paternel et son travail artistique, publiant ses propres livres chez Steidl. Le diptyque Whisperde 1999, exposé dans OSMOSCOSMOS, a été publié dans son deuxième livre Color.

En relation