Artist file


Bjørn Melhus * 1966 in Kirchheim unter Teck, Allemagne, lives in Berlin

"Bjørn Melhus is a German-Norwegian media artist. In his work he has developed a singular position, expanding the possibilities for a critical reception of cinema and television. His practice of fragmentation, destruction, and reconstitution of well-known figures, topics, and strategies of the mass media opens up not only a network of new interpretations and critical commentaries, but also defines the relationship of mass media and viewer anew. Originally rooted in an experimental film cont [...]

"Bjørn Melhus is a German-Norwegian media artist. In his work he has developed a singular position, expanding the possibilities for a critical reception of cinema and television. His practice of fragmentation, destruction, and reconstitution of well-known figures, topics, and strategies of the mass media opens up not only a network of new interpretations and critical commentaries, but also defines the relationship of mass media and viewer anew. Originally rooted in an experimental film context, Bjørn Melhus’s work has been shown and awarded at numerous international film festivals."

Coming from experimental cinema, Bjørn Melhus is a major German video artist whose work has earned him numerous awards and has been seen in several international museums and biennial exhibitions. His practice of fragmenting and exaggerating figures and using dramatic strategies generated by mass media has opened him to criticism while also defining a new relationship between those media and the viewer. Moon over Da Nang(2016) refers to one of the greatest televised war spectacles, the Vietnam War. During the same period, American astronauts were looking at Earth from the Moon and discovering the Blue Planet, the future emblem of the environmentalist movement. The two narrative lines of this short film develop in parallel, linked by shots showing the making of a marble astronaut in Da Nang, a new city that is beloved by investors in the tourism industry.

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Bjørn Melhus * 1966 à Kirchheim unter Teck, Allemagne, vit à Berlin

Bjørn Melhus fait un travail d’archéologie des médias en utilisant principalement le film et la vidéo. Il commence par emprunter un son et lui insuffle une nouvelle vie et un nouveau sens par l’entremise de son visage ou son corps. Les empreintes de notre mémoire collective et de nos peurs archaïques sont les fondements de toutes ses réalisations. Pour Sudden Destruction, c’est la menace de la fin du monde qui est analysée au moyen de la mise en image de diverses citat [...]

Bjørn Melhus fait un travail d’archéologie des médias en utilisant principalement le film et la vidéo. Il commence par emprunter un son et lui insuffle une nouvelle vie et un nouveau sens par l’entremise de son visage ou son corps. Les empreintes de notre mémoire collective et de nos peurs archaïques sont les fondements de toutes ses réalisations. Pour Sudden Destruction, c’est la menace de la fin du monde qui est analysée au moyen de la mise en image de diverses citations empruntées à des vidéos trouvées sur YouTube, postées par des évangélistes, prophètes auto-proclamés.

Issu du cinéma expérimental, Bjørn Melhus est un artiste vidéaste majeur allemand, de nombreuses fois récompensé et présent dans plusieurs musées et biennales internationaux. Sa pratique de la fragmentation et de l’exagération de figures ou de stratégies dramaturgiques générées par les mass média ouvre à la critique et définit une nouvelle relation entre ces derniers et le spectateur. Moon over Da Nang (2016) renvoie à l’un des plus grands spectacles de guerre télévisés, celui du Vietnam. Les astronautes américains regardaient à la même époque la Terre depuis la lune et découvraient la planète bleue, futur emblème du mouvement environnementaliste. Les deux voies narratives de ce court métrage son menées en parallèle, reliées par des plans montrant la fabrication d’un astronaute en marbre à Da Nang, nouvelle ville chérie par les investisseurs du tourisme.

En relation