Fred Lonidier
STRIKE

12.06 — 30.08.2015

The Centre de la photographie Genève (CpG) is presenting the first institutional exhibition in Europe of the work of Fred Lonidier from 12 June to 6 September 2015, in collaboration with L’Istituto Svizzero di Roma. An extension of the exhibition will be shown in the Salle des Pas Perdus of the UN’s Palais des Nations in Geneva from 10 July to 21 August 2015, in partnership with the Permanent Mission of the United States of America to the UN.

Vernissage: 11.06.2015

Curator Geneva: Joerg Bader
Curator Rome and Zürich: Egija Inzule

In collaboration with l’Istituto Svizzero di Roma; ONU, Palais des Nations, Genève; CLAP – Camere del Lavoro Autonomo e Precario, Rome; Haute École d’art de Zurich (ZHdK)

The series 29 ARRESTS, shown at the CpG for the first time in the group exhibition AGAINST THE GRAIN in 2014, is the point of departure for Fred Lonidier's STRIKE exhibition (born in 1942 in Lakeview, Oregon, Fred Lonidier lives and works in San Diego).

29 ARRESTS shows the same set-up twenty-nine times: a photograph of the police, from behind, taking the photograph of one of the students arrested at a sit-in outside San Diego's Naval district headquarters at a time when it was launch [...]

The series 29 ARRESTS, shown at the CpG for the first time in the group exhibition AGAINST THE GRAIN in 2014, is the point of departure for Fred Lonidier's STRIKE exhibition (born in 1942 in Lakeview, Oregon, Fred Lonidier lives and works in San Diego).

29 ARRESTS shows the same set-up twenty-nine times: a photograph of the police, from behind, taking the photograph of one of the students arrested at a sit-in outside San Diego's Naval district headquarters at a time when it was launching massive bombing raids on Cambodia in 1972.

This series, which the artist considers one of his first significant works, also marks his political radicalisation, after his elder sister had familiarised him with feminism.

A member of the SDS (Students for a Democratic Society) since 1965, the USA's post-colonial war against Vietnam was a major factor in the politicisation and radicalisation of hundreds of thousands of students, including this young art teacher at the brand new University of California, San Diego. Among the students at UCSD were Angela Davis, and among his Marxist colleagues, Herbert Marcuse and Fredric Jameson. The first, having fled Nazi Germany, was associated with the Frankfurt School of critical theory, while the second was an analyst of cultural trends in their economic and political aspects, bringing him close to the pioneers of "Cultural Studies".

So, for Fred Lonidier, the term "art" makes no sense unless it is rooted in its historical, political, social and economic soil. In this sense, the historic avant-gardes of the early twentieth century and more specifically the Soviet constructivists are a reference for the artist, since they clearly aimed to change society through their artistic activities. Other influences we can mention are the Marxist artist John Heartfield and above all the playwright Bertolt Brecht.

In the early 70s, Fred Lonidier found himself at UCSD among an informal group of teachers including Phel Steinmetz, and students including Martha Rosler and Allan Sekula, determined to do away with the myth of the documentary photography of the kind espoused by Dorothea Lange and Walker Evans – of a history of depression-era America that had over time been completely emptied of its political edge to become an object of photographic history, in other words a museum piece.

They wanted to formulate a new art of documentary making and they turned to the most contemporary form of the avant-garde: conceptual art. But unlike their colleagues on the east coast, such as Joseph Kosuth and Lawrence Weiner who perpetuated the notion of the autonomy of the art object cultivated by the painters of the New York School then by the minimalists, they used written text and photography to load them with social and political content.

In the STRIKE exhibition at the CpG, following the 29 ARRESTS series and DRAFT RESISTANCE, also reporting on a demonstration against the US war in Vietnam, this time in Seattle (where Allan Sekula would produce WAITING FOR TEAR GAS in 1999), you will see the series VACATION VILLAGE TRADE SHOW : A MATERIAL PIECE. In the spirit of conceptual art, with a feminist theme, it looks at the machismo of photographic sessions with models posing in bikinis in public gardens, organised for any amateur photographers prepared to pay $20, highlighting, as did the advertising of the period, male dominance in adverts by manufacturers of cameras and photographic objectives.

Although the militancy in Fred Lonidier's art began with series related to the anti-war movement that numbered up to 750,000 activists across the country, with 100,000 students members of the SDS in 1968, and feminism is to the fore in VACATION VILLAGE TRADE SHOW: A MATERIAL PIECE or WEDDING (presented at the CPG in the form of Dia projection), the most important part of the artist's work, and also his most radical position, came in the 80s and after.

The radical nature of Fred Lonidier's approach does not consist only of turning away from traditional art venues, especially in the 80s, by moving into community centres, bookshops and union halls, and even going as far as to take a semi-trailer truck to factories, as he did to show the NAFTA series. He also makes a radical change on an aesthetic level by adopting forms of popular culture, from the tabloid press to popular advertising leaflets – the chief reading matter of the working classes. Fred Lonidier no longer applies the position of the historic avant-garde who insisted that the everyday should be raised to the highest level (de Stijl, Bauhaus, etc); instead, he uses the forms familiar to those he wishes to see emancipated.

NAFTA will therefore also be the most important piece in the STRIKE exhibition. The 22 panels comprising photographs and text dating from 1997 to 2006, are a call to the men and women workers of the Maquiladoras on either side of the Mexico/United States border. With his artistic work, Fred Lonidier not only led a counter information campaign on the trade treaty between the two American nations called the North American Free Trade Agreement – which in militant language becomes Not A Fair Trade – but is also a call to this very cheap labour force to unionise and defend its rights.

Another part of his work strongly marked by trade union activism will be shown in the Salle des Pas Perdu at the UN in Geneva from 10 July to 21 August 2015. This is a campaign on behalf of trade unionism that Fred Lonidier launched in 1983 under the title I LIKE EVERYTHING NOTHING BUT UNION in a political landscape in the USA in which the left had been completely decimated by the hard-line neo-liberal conservatives who embarked, with England under Maggie Thatcher, on a dismantling of the welfare state that endures vehemently today in western countries.

CpG opening hours: Tues-Sun, 11am-6pm

Palais des Nations opening hours: Mon-Fri, free admission by reservation (tel: 022

The Fred Lonidier – Strike! exhibition will be held at 5 different venues: •Centre de la photographie Genève, from 12 June to 30 August 2015 •Istituto Svizzero di Roma, from 6 June to 19 September 2015 •UN, Palais des Nations, Salle des Pas Perdus, Geneva, from 10 July to 21 August 2015 •CLAP - Camere del Lavoro Autonomo e Precario, Rome, from 28 May to 6 July 2015 •Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK), from September 2015 to June 2016

 

The Fred Lonidier – Strike! exhibition is supported by: The USA Mission to the United Nations Geneva Volkart Stiftung


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

Artist file

Fred Lonidier * 1942 in Lake View (Oregon), lives in San Diego

The series 29 ARRESTS, shown at the CpG for the first time in the group exhibition AGAINST THE GRAIN in 2014, is the point of departure for Fred Lonidier's STRIKE exhibition (born in 1942 in Lakeview, Oregon, Fred Lonidier lives and works in San Diego).

29 ARRESTS shows the same set-up twenty-nine times: a photograph of the police, from behind, taking the photograph of one of the students arrested at a sit-in outside San Diego's Naval district headquarters at a time when it was launch [...]

The series 29 ARRESTS, shown at the CpG for the first time in the group exhibition AGAINST THE GRAIN in 2014, is the point of departure for Fred Lonidier's STRIKE exhibition (born in 1942 in Lakeview, Oregon, Fred Lonidier lives and works in San Diego).

29 ARRESTS shows the same set-up twenty-nine times: a photograph of the police, from behind, taking the photograph of one of the students arrested at a sit-in outside San Diego's Naval district headquarters at a time when it was launching massive bombing raids on Cambodia in 1972.

This series, which the artist considers one of his first significant works, also marks his political radicalisation, after his elder sister had familiarised him with feminism.

A member of the SDS (Students for a Democratic Society) since 1965, the USA's post-colonial war against Vietnam was a major factor in the politicisation and radicalisation of hundreds of thousands of students, including this young art teacher at the brand new University of California, San Diego. Among the students at UCSD were Angela Davis, and among his Marxist colleagues, Herbert Marcuse and Fredric Jameson. The first, having fled Nazi Germany, was associated with the Frankfurt School of critical theory, while the second was an analyst of cultural trends in their economic and political aspects, bringing him close to the pioneers of "Cultural Studies".

So, for Fred Lonidier, the term "art" makes no sense unless it is rooted in its historical, political, social and economic soil. In this sense, the historic avant-gardes of the early twentieth century and more specifically the Soviet constructivists are a reference for the artist, since they clearly aimed to change society through their artistic activities. Other influences we can mention are the Marxist artist John Heartfield and above all the playwright Bertolt Brecht.

In the early 70s, Fred Lonidier found himself at UCSD among an informal group of teachers including Phel Steinmetz, and students including Martha Rosler and Allan Sekula, determined to do away with the myth of the documentary photography of the kind espoused by Dorothea Lange and Walker Evans – of a history of depression-era America that had over time been completely emptied of its political edge to become an object of photographic history, in other words a museum piece.

They wanted to formulate a new art of documentary making and they turned to the most contemporary form of the avant-garde: conceptual art. But unlike their colleagues on the east coast, such as Joseph Kosuth and Lawrence Weiner who perpetuated the notion of the autonomy of the art object cultivated by the painters of the New York School then by the minimalists, they used written text and photography to load them with social and political content.

In the STRIKE exhibition at the CpG, following the 29 ARRESTS series and DRAFT RESISTANCE, also reporting on a demonstration against the US war in Vietnam, this time in Seattle (where Allan Sekula would produce WAITING FOR TEAR GAS in 1999), you will see the series VACATION VILLAGE TRADE SHOW : A MATERIAL PIECE. In the spirit of conceptual art, with a feminist theme, it looks at the machismo of photographic sessions with models posing in bikinis in public gardens, organised for any amateur photographers prepared to pay $20, highlighting, as did the advertising of the period, male dominance in adverts by manufacturers of cameras and photographic objectives.

Although the militancy in Fred Lonidier's art began with series related to the anti-war movement that numbered up to 750,000 activists across the country, with 100,000 students members of the SDS in 1968, and feminism is to the fore in VACATION VILLAGE TRADE SHOW: A MATERIAL PIECE or WEDDING (presented at the CPG in the form of Dia projection), the most important part of the artist's work, and also his most radical position, came in the 80s and after.

The radical nature of Fred Lonidier's approach does not consist only of turning away from traditional art venues, especially in the 80s, by moving into community centres, bookshops and union halls, and even going as far as to take a semi-trailer truck to factories, as he did to show the NAFTA series. He also makes a radical change on an aesthetic level by adopting forms of popular culture, from the tabloid press to popular advertising leaflets – the chief reading matter of the working classes. Fred Lonidier no longer applies the position of the historic avant-garde who insisted that the everyday should be raised to the highest level (de Stijl, Bauhaus, etc); instead, he uses the forms familiar to those he wishes to see emancipated.

NAFTA will therefore also be the most important piece in the STRIKE exhibition. The 22 panels comprising photographs and text dating from 1997 to 2006, are a call to the men and women workers of the Maquiladoras on either side of the Mexico/United States border. With his artistic work, Fred Lonidier not only led a counter information campaign on the trade treaty between the two American nations called the North American Free Trade Agreement – which in militant language becomes Not A Fair Trade – but is also a call to this very cheap labour force to unionise and defend its rights.

Another part of his work strongly marked by trade union activism will be shown in the Salle des Pas Perdu at the UN in Geneva from 10 July to 21 August 2015. This is a campaign on behalf of trade unionism that Fred Lonidier launched in 1983 under the title I LIKE EVERYTHING NOTHING BUT UNION in a political landscape in the USA in which the left had been completely decimated by the hard-line neo-liberal conservatives who embarked, with England under Maggie Thatcher, on a dismantling of the welfare state that endures vehemently today in western countries.

CpG opening hours: Tues-Sun, 11am-6pm

Palais des Nations opening hours: Mon-Fri, free admission by reservation (tel: 022

The Fred Lonidier – Strike! exhibition will be held at 5 different venues: •Centre de la photographie Genève, from 12 June to 30 August 2015 •Istituto Svizzero di Roma, from 6 June to 19 September 2015 •UN, Palais des Nations, Salle des Pas Perdus, Geneva, from 10 July to 21 August 2015 •CLAP - Camere del Lavoro Autonomo e Precario, Rome, from 28 May to 6 July 2015 •Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK), from September 2015 to June 2016

 

The Fred Lonidier – Strike! exhibition is supported by: The USA Mission to the United Nations Geneva Volkart Stiftung


Exhibition view

Related content

FRED LONIDIER
STRIKE

12.06 — 30.08.2015

Le Centre de la photographie Genève (CpG) présente la première exposition institutionnelle en Europe de Fred Lonidier du 12 juin au 6 septembre 2015, en collaboration avec l’Istituto Svizzero di Roma. L’exposition trouve aussi une extension dans la Salle des Pas Perdus du Palais des Nations de l’ONU à Genève du 10 juillet au 21 août 2015, avec le partenariat de la mission permanente des États-Unis d’Amérique à l’ONU.

 

Vernissage: 11.06.2015

Commissaire Genève: Joerg Bader
Commissaire Rome et Zürich: Egija Inzule

Une collaboration entre l’Istituto Svizzero di Roma, et le Centre de la photographie Genève. L’exposition est aussi à voir au Palais des Nations (ONU Genève), au CLAP – Camere del Lavoro Autonomo e Precario à Rome et à la Haute École d’art de Zurich

La série 29 ARREST, montrée une première fois au CpG dans l’exposition collective AGAINST THE GRAIN en 2014, est le point de départ de l’exposition STRIKE de Fred Lonidier (*1942, Lakeview, OR, vit et travaille à San Diego).

29 ARREST montre vingt-neuf fois le même dispositif : un photographe de la police, de dos, tirant le portrait d’un des étudiants arrêtés à l’occasion d’un sit-in devant le QG de la marine de l’armée US à San Diego, lorsque celle-ci lançait [...]

La série 29 ARREST, montrée une première fois au CpG dans l’exposition collective AGAINST THE GRAIN en 2014, est le point de départ de l’exposition STRIKE de Fred Lonidier (*1942, Lakeview, OR, vit et travaille à San Diego).

29 ARREST montre vingt-neuf fois le même dispositif : un photographe de la police, de dos, tirant le portrait d’un des étudiants arrêtés à l’occasion d’un sit-in devant le QG de la marine de l’armée US à San Diego, lorsque celle-ci lançait les bombardements massifs contre le Cambodge en 1972.

Cette série, que l’artiste considère comme l’une de ses premières œuvres importantes, est aussi la trace de sa radicalisation politique, après que sa sœur aînée l’ait familiarisé avec le féminisme.

Membre dès 1965 de la SDS (Students for Democratic Society), la guerre post-coloniale des E.U. contre le Vietnam fut un important facteur dans la politisation et la radicalisation de centaines de milliers d’étudiants, dont aussi celle du jeune professeur d’art qu’il était dans sa toute nouvelle Université de Californie de San Diego. L’UCSD comptait parmi ses étudiants Angela Davis et parmi ses collègues marxistes, Herbert Marcuse et Frederic Jameson. Le premier, fuyant l’Allemagne nazie était affilié à la théorie critique de l’école de Francfort tandis que le deuxième menait une critique de la culture sous ses auspices économiques et politiques, le rapprochant des pionniers des « Cultural Studies ».

Ainsi, pour Fred Lonidier le terme « art » ne fait pas sens si on ne l’enracine pas dans son sol historique, politique, social et économique. En ce sens, les avant-gardes historiques du début du XXème siècle et plus spécifiquement les constructivistes soviétiques font référence pour l’artiste, car ils visaient clairement, par leurs activités artistiques, des changements de société ; citons aussi comme influence l’artiste marxiste, John Heartfield et surtout le dramaturge Bertolt Brecht.

Au début des années 70, Fred Lonidier se trouve à l’UCSD avec un groupe informel de professeurs, dont Phel Steinmetz, et d’étudiants, dont Martha Rosler et Allan Sekula, décidés à en finir avec le mythe de la photographie documentaire à la Dorothea Lange et Walker Evans – d’une histoire de l’Amérique de la dépression qui au fil du temps avait été complètement vidée de son mordant politique pour devenir un objet d’histoire de la photographie, c’est-à-dire de contemplation muséale.

Ils voulaient reformuler un nouveau documentarisme et se tournèrent vers la forme d’avant-garde la plus contemporaine : l’art conceptuel. Mais au contraire de leurs collègues de la côte est, à l’instar d’un Joseph Kosuth ou d’un Lawrence Weiner qui perpétuaient la notion d’autonomie de l’œuvre d’art cultivée par les peintres de l’école de New York, puis par les minimalistes, ils se servaient du texte écrit et de la photographie pour les charger de contenus social et politique.

Ainsi, dans l’exposition STRIKE au CpG on découvrira, suite à la série 29 ARREST et DRAFT RESISTENCE, rapportant aussi une manifestation contre la guerre des E.U. au Vietnam, cette fois-ci à Seattle (où Allan Sekula réalisera en 1999 WAITING FOR TEAR GAS), la série VACATION VILLAGE TRADE SHOW : A MATERIAL PIECE. Dans l’esprit de l’art conceptuel, elle thématise sur

un air de féminisme l’aspect machiste des sessions de photographie avec modèles posant en bikini dans des jardins publics, organisées pour des photographes amateurs prêts à payer 20 $, tout en mettant en avant, à l’exemple de publicité de l’époque, l’accentuation de la domination mâle par les publicités des fabricants d’appareils et objectifs photographiques.

Si le militantisme dans l’art par Fred Lonidier commence avec les séries liées au mouvement anti-guerre qui comptaient jusqu’à 750'000 activistes à travers le pays, avec 100'000 étudiants inscrits au SDS en 1968, si le féminisme est présent avec VACATION VILLAGE TRADE SHOW : A MATERIAL PIECE ou WEDDING (présenté au CPG sous forme de projection digitale), la plus importante part du travail de l’artiste et aussi sa position la plus radicale se réalisent à partir des années 80.

La radicalité de la démarche de Fred Lonidier ne consiste pas seulement à se détourner des lieux d’art, spécialement à partir des années 80 en investissant des centres communautaires, des librairies et autres locaux syndicaux, jusqu’à aller même devant les usines avec un grand camion, tel qu’il l’a fait pour la présentation de la série NAFTA. C’est aussi sur un niveau esthétique qu’il opère un changement radical en adoptant des formes de la culture populaire, allant des journaux à sensation jusqu’aux imprimés de publicité populaires – la lecture principale du monde ouvrier. Ainsi, Fred Lonidier ne postule plus la position des avant-gardes historiques qui insistaient sur le fait que le quotidien doive s’élever au niveau des plus pointus (de Stijl, Bauhaus, etc) ; au contraire, il épouse les formes de ceux qu’il souhaite voir s’émanciper.

NAFTA va donc aussi être la pièce la plus importante dans l’exposition STRIKE. Les 22 panneaux comprenant des photographies et du texte, datant de 1997 à 2006, sont un appel aux ouvrières et ouvriers des Maquiladores des deux côtés de la frontière Mexique/E.U. Avec son travail artistique, Fred Lonidier ne menait pas seulement une campagne de contre-information au sujet du traité d’échange entre les deux nations américaines appelé North American Free Trade Agreement - ce qui devient dans le langage militant Not A Fare Trade – mais aussi un appel à l’attention de cette main d’œuvre très bon marché à se syndicaliser et à défendre ses droits.

Un autre volet de son travail fort marqué par l’activisme syndicaliste sera présenté du 10 juillet au 21 août 2015 dans la Salle des Pas Perdu à l’ONU à Genève. Il s’agit d’une campagne en faveur du syndicalisme que Fred Lonidier avait lancée en 1983 sous le titre de I LIKE EVERYTHING NOTHING BUT THE UNION dans un paysage politique des E.U. où la gauche était complètement laminée par l’aile dure des conservateurs ultralibéraux, qui entamait avec l’Angleterre sous Maggie Thatcher le démantèlement de l’état-providence qui perdure avec véhémence jusqu’à aujourd’hui dans les pays occidentaux.

 

L’exposition Fred Lonidier – Strike bénéficie du soutien de: U.S Mission to the United Nations Geneva Volkart Foundation


Soutiens

Avec le généreux soutien de(s) partenaire(s) suivant(s)

Fiche d'artiste

Fred Lonidier * 1942 à Lake View (Oregon), vit à San Diego

La série 29 ARREST, montrée une première fois au CpG dans l’exposition collective AGAINST THE GRAIN en 2014, est le point de départ de l’exposition STRIKE de Fred Lonidier (*1942, Lakeview, OR, vit et travaille à San Diego).

29 ARREST montre vingt-neuf fois le même dispositif : un photographe de la police, de dos, tirant le portrait d’un des étudiants arrêtés à l’occasion d’un sit-in devant le QG de la marine de l’armée US à San Diego, lorsque celle-ci lançait [...]

La série 29 ARREST, montrée une première fois au CpG dans l’exposition collective AGAINST THE GRAIN en 2014, est le point de départ de l’exposition STRIKE de Fred Lonidier (*1942, Lakeview, OR, vit et travaille à San Diego).

29 ARREST montre vingt-neuf fois le même dispositif : un photographe de la police, de dos, tirant le portrait d’un des étudiants arrêtés à l’occasion d’un sit-in devant le QG de la marine de l’armée US à San Diego, lorsque celle-ci lançait les bombardements massifs contre le Cambodge en 1972.

Cette série, que l’artiste considère comme l’une de ses premières œuvres importantes, est aussi la trace de sa radicalisation politique, après que sa sœur aînée l’ait familiarisé avec le féminisme.

Membre dès 1965 de la SDS (Students for Democratic Society), la guerre post-coloniale des E.U. contre le Vietnam fut un important facteur dans la politisation et la radicalisation de centaines de milliers d’étudiants, dont aussi celle du jeune professeur d’art qu’il était dans sa toute nouvelle Université de Californie de San Diego. L’UCSD comptait parmi ses étudiants Angela Davis et parmi ses collègues marxistes, Herbert Marcuse et Frederic Jameson. Le premier, fuyant l’Allemagne nazie était affilié à la théorie critique de l’école de Francfort tandis que le deuxième menait une critique de la culture sous ses auspices économiques et politiques, le rapprochant des pionniers des « Cultural Studies ».

Ainsi, pour Fred Lonidier le terme « art » ne fait pas sens si on ne l’enracine pas dans son sol historique, politique, social et économique. En ce sens, les avant-gardes historiques du début du XXème siècle et plus spécifiquement les constructivistes soviétiques font référence pour l’artiste, car ils visaient clairement, par leurs activités artistiques, des changements de société ; citons aussi comme influence l’artiste marxiste, John Heartfield et surtout le dramaturge Bertolt Brecht.

Au début des années 70, Fred Lonidier se trouve à l’UCSD avec un groupe informel de professeurs, dont Phel Steinmetz, et d’étudiants, dont Martha Rosler et Allan Sekula, décidés à en finir avec le mythe de la photographie documentaire à la Dorothea Lange et Walker Evans – d’une histoire de l’Amérique de la dépression qui au fil du temps avait été complètement vidée de son mordant politique pour devenir un objet d’histoire de la photographie, c’est-à-dire de contemplation muséale.

Ils voulaient reformuler un nouveau documentarisme et se tournèrent vers la forme d’avant-garde la plus contemporaine : l’art conceptuel. Mais au contraire de leurs collègues de la côte est, à l’instar d’un Joseph Kosuth ou d’un Lawrence Weiner qui perpétuaient la notion d’autonomie de l’œuvre d’art cultivée par les peintres de l’école de New York, puis par les minimalistes, ils se servaient du texte écrit et de la photographie pour les charger de contenus social et politique.

Ainsi, dans l’exposition STRIKE au CpG on découvrira, suite à la série 29 ARREST et DRAFT RESISTENCE, rapportant aussi une manifestation contre la guerre des E.U. au Vietnam, cette fois-ci à Seattle (où Allan Sekula réalisera en 1999 WAITING FOR TEAR GAS), la série VACATION VILLAGE TRADE SHOW : A MATERIAL PIECE. Dans l’esprit de l’art conceptuel, elle thématise sur

un air de féminisme l’aspect machiste des sessions de photographie avec modèles posant en bikini dans des jardins publics, organisées pour des photographes amateurs prêts à payer 20 $, tout en mettant en avant, à l’exemple de publicité de l’époque, l’accentuation de la domination mâle par les publicités des fabricants d’appareils et objectifs photographiques.

Si le militantisme dans l’art par Fred Lonidier commence avec les séries liées au mouvement anti-guerre qui comptaient jusqu’à 750'000 activistes à travers le pays, avec 100'000 étudiants inscrits au SDS en 1968, si le féminisme est présent avec VACATION VILLAGE TRADE SHOW : A MATERIAL PIECE ou WEDDING (présenté au CPG sous forme de projection digitale), la plus importante part du travail de l’artiste et aussi sa position la plus radicale se réalisent à partir des années 80.

La radicalité de la démarche de Fred Lonidier ne consiste pas seulement à se détourner des lieux d’art, spécialement à partir des années 80 en investissant des centres communautaires, des librairies et autres locaux syndicaux, jusqu’à aller même devant les usines avec un grand camion, tel qu’il l’a fait pour la présentation de la série NAFTA. C’est aussi sur un niveau esthétique qu’il opère un changement radical en adoptant des formes de la culture populaire, allant des journaux à sensation jusqu’aux imprimés de publicité populaires – la lecture principale du monde ouvrier. Ainsi, Fred Lonidier ne postule plus la position des avant-gardes historiques qui insistaient sur le fait que le quotidien doive s’élever au niveau des plus pointus (de Stijl, Bauhaus, etc) ; au contraire, il épouse les formes de ceux qu’il souhaite voir s’émanciper.

NAFTA va donc aussi être la pièce la plus importante dans l’exposition STRIKE. Les 22 panneaux comprenant des photographies et du texte, datant de 1997 à 2006, sont un appel aux ouvrières et ouvriers des Maquiladores des deux côtés de la frontière Mexique/E.U. Avec son travail artistique, Fred Lonidier ne menait pas seulement une campagne de contre-information au sujet du traité d’échange entre les deux nations américaines appelé North American Free Trade Agreement - ce qui devient dans le langage militant Not A Fare Trade – mais aussi un appel à l’attention de cette main d’œuvre très bon marché à se syndicaliser et à défendre ses droits.

Un autre volet de son travail fort marqué par l’activisme syndicaliste sera présenté du 10 juillet au 21 août 2015 dans la Salle des Pas Perdu à l’ONU à Genève. Il s’agit d’une campagne en faveur du syndicalisme que Fred Lonidier avait lancée en 1983 sous le titre de I LIKE EVERYTHING NOTHING BUT THE UNION dans un paysage politique des E.U. où la gauche était complètement laminée par l’aile dure des conservateurs ultralibéraux, qui entamait avec l’Angleterre sous Maggie Thatcher le démantèlement de l’état-providence qui perdure avec véhémence jusqu’à aujourd’hui dans les pays occidentaux.

 

L’exposition Fred Lonidier – Strike bénéficie du soutien de: U.S Mission to the United Nations Geneva Volkart Foundation


Vue d'exposition

En relation