Patrick Weidmann
IMAGE DE CHARME

28.01 — 31.01.2016

Invited back to artgenève following the successes of the previous year with Jules Spinatsch, the CPG will be showing a new series of works by Patrick Weidmann (*1956, lives and works in Geneva).

Hors-les-murs : artgenève 2016

His solo exhibition at the CPG in 2012, Best of Dictature – coinciding with the publication of his first monograph with JRP-Ringier – compellingly raised the question of the fetishism of merchandise for the first time ever in the CPG’s programme. The show planned for artgenève comprises a new series which depicts the virile machine-fuelled world of police motorcycle outriders, the guardian angels of the stars at Cannes. To accompany the presentation of Patrick Weidmann’s ne [...]

His solo exhibition at the CPG in 2012, Best of Dictature – coinciding with the publication of his first monograph with JRP-Ringier – compellingly raised the question of the fetishism of merchandise for the first time ever in the CPG’s programme. The show planned for artgenève comprises a new series which depicts the virile machine-fuelled world of police motorcycle outriders, the guardian angels of the stars at Cannes. To accompany the presentation of Patrick Weidmann’s new publication, Magazine de Charme, published by Les éditions Centre de la photographie Genève at the end of 2015, the CPG will counterbalance the show with some new pieces from the series of the same name exhibited by the CPG for the first time in 2006 in the PHOTO-TRAFIC exhibition. The combination of “black-booted gendarmes at Cannes” and “crumpled pictures of pin-ups from erotic magazines” will delight fetishists of all stripes, including contemporary art fetichists.


Artist file

Patrick Weidmann * 1956 in Genève, lives in Genève

His solo exhibition at the CPG in 2012, Best of Dictature – coinciding with the publication of his first monograph with JRP-Ringier – compellingly raised the question of the fetishism of merchandise for the first time ever in the CPG’s programme. The show planned for artgenève comprises a new series which depicts the virile machine-fuelled world of police motorcycle outriders, the guardian angels of the stars at Cannes. To accompany the presentation of Patrick Weidmann’s ne [...]

His solo exhibition at the CPG in 2012, Best of Dictature – coinciding with the publication of his first monograph with JRP-Ringier – compellingly raised the question of the fetishism of merchandise for the first time ever in the CPG’s programme. The show planned for artgenève comprises a new series which depicts the virile machine-fuelled world of police motorcycle outriders, the guardian angels of the stars at Cannes. To accompany the presentation of Patrick Weidmann’s new publication, Magazine de Charme, published by Les éditions Centre de la photographie Genève at the end of 2015, the CPG will counterbalance the show with some new pieces from the series of the same name exhibited by the CPG for the first time in 2006 in the PHOTO-TRAFIC exhibition. The combination of “black-booted gendarmes at Cannes” and “crumpled pictures of pin-ups from erotic magazines” will delight fetishists of all stripes, including contemporary art fetichists.


Exhibition view

Related content

PATRICK WEIDMANN
IMAGE DE CHARME

28.01 — 31.01.2016

Réinvité à artgenève après les succès rencontrés avec Jules Spinatsch l’année précédente, le CPG présente une nouvelle série de Patrick Weidmann.

Hors-les-murs : artgenève 2016

Son exposition personnelle au CPG en 2012, « Best of dictature » - à l’occasion de la sortie de sa première monographie chez JRP-Ringier éditions - posait pour la première fois dans la programmation du CPG et de façon incontournable la question du fétichisme de la marchandise. La présentation pour artgenève prévoit une nouvelle série inédite, représentant l’univers de la mécanique virile des motards agents de la paix, voire des anges gardiens des stars à Cannes. Pour ac [...]

Son exposition personnelle au CPG en 2012, « Best of dictature » - à l’occasion de la sortie de sa première monographie chez JRP-Ringier éditions - posait pour la première fois dans la programmation du CPG et de façon incontournable la question du fétichisme de la marchandise. La présentation pour artgenève prévoit une nouvelle série inédite, représentant l’univers de la mécanique virile des motards agents de la paix, voire des anges gardiens des stars à Cannes. Pour accompagner la présentation de la nouvelle publication de Patrick Weidmann, Magazine de Charme, paru fin 2015 aux éditions Centre de la photographie Genève, le CPG présentera en « contrepoids »  des nouvelles pièces de la série éponyme que le CPG avait présentée pour la première fois en 2006 dans l’exposition PHOTO-TRAFIC. La combinatoire  « gendarmes en bottes noires à Cannes » et « repros photographiques froissées de pin-up de magazines érotiques » ravira les fétichistes de différents horizons, voire aussi de l’art contemporain.


Fiche d'artiste

Patrick Weidmann * 1958 à Genève, vit à Genève

Son exposition personnelle au CPG en 2012, « Best of dictature » - à l’occasion de la sortie de sa première monographie chez JRP-Ringier éditions - posait pour la première fois dans la programmation du CPG et de façon incontournable la question du fétichisme de la marchandise. La présentation pour artgenève prévoit une nouvelle série inédite, représentant l’univers de la mécanique virile des motards agents de la paix, voire des anges gardiens des stars à Cannes. Pour ac [...]

Son exposition personnelle au CPG en 2012, « Best of dictature » - à l’occasion de la sortie de sa première monographie chez JRP-Ringier éditions - posait pour la première fois dans la programmation du CPG et de façon incontournable la question du fétichisme de la marchandise. La présentation pour artgenève prévoit une nouvelle série inédite, représentant l’univers de la mécanique virile des motards agents de la paix, voire des anges gardiens des stars à Cannes. Pour accompagner la présentation de la nouvelle publication de Patrick Weidmann, Magazine de Charme, paru fin 2015 aux éditions Centre de la photographie Genève, le CPG présentera en « contrepoids »  des nouvelles pièces de la série éponyme que le CPG avait présentée pour la première fois en 2006 dans l’exposition PHOTO-TRAFIC. La combinatoire  « gendarmes en bottes noires à Cannes » et « repros photographiques froissées de pin-up de magazines érotiques » ravira les fétichistes de différents horizons, voire aussi de l’art contemporain.


Vue d'exposition

En relation