Fabian Biasio
DIE MITTE DES VOLKES

22.05 — 17.08.2008

From 2002 to 2007, throughout the Swiss Federal Parliament term of office, when Christoph Blocher was a member of the Federal Council, Fabian Biasio (born 1975, Lucerne) mixed with the participants to the great gatherings of the Swiss People’s Party (SPP), with its patriotic celebrations and party meetings. The young press photographer – winner in may 2008 of the prize “Sonntagszeitung” at the “Swiss Selection” awards of the best photographic works- followed SPP members and sympathisers to multi-purpose halls, to famous natural heights such as Grütli or Säntis, or on cruise boats such as the “Flüelen”.

 

Vernissage: 22.05.2008

Through his regular presence, Fabian Biasio became a familiar figure to party members, from the party base to the mid-hierarchy members to the party ideologists and leaders in Zurich. He used this proximity to offer them to have their photograph taken at their own houses or flats. Bearing in mind a principle inherent to photographic portrait - any "taken" photograph leaves a symbolic emptiness - Fabian Biasio offered them as compensation for their "borrowed" faces a photographic print of the [...]

Through his regular presence, Fabian Biasio became a familiar figure to party members, from the party base to the mid-hierarchy members to the party ideologists and leaders in Zurich. He used this proximity to offer them to have their photograph taken at their own houses or flats. Bearing in mind a principle inherent to photographic portrait - any "taken" photograph leaves a symbolic emptiness - Fabian Biasio offered them as compensation for their "borrowed" faces a photographic print of their favourite Swiss landscape. The move was obvious: it goes without saying that while this action flattered an ideology that claims to represent the land, it also gives the floor to the represented person for a second time.

Fabian Biasio's work was documented in a book published by Edition Patrick Frey 1 featuring very discerning articles by Margrit Sprecher, some of which were published in the Swiss-German press of various political leanings: Wochenzeitung, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Weltwoche, Das Magazin.

1 Sprecher/Biasio, Die Mitte des Volkes, Zurich, Ed. Patrick Frey, 2007, p.5

http://www.biasio.com/

************************************************************************

Die Mitte des Volkes, texts by Margrit Sprecher, photographs by Fabian Biasio Ed.Patrick Frey , Zurich, 2007. 187 colour pages, German,1st edition, ISBN 978-3-905509-65-6.

Edition Patrick Frey, c / o Kein&Aber AG, Bäckerstrasse 52, 8026 Zurich. www.editionpatrickfrey.ch, mail@editionpatrickfrey.ch ************************************************************************

BLACK SHEEP AND DIRTY HANDS Jean-Pierre Greff, Director of Haute école d'art et de design - Genève (HEAD), will have the floor on 12th June at 6 p.m. at the Centre de la photographie within the framework of the seminar Visual Studies of HEAD's art/media department on the issue of two SPP posters of the national election campaign in the autumn of 2007.

The exhibition DIE MITTE DES VOLKES benefited from Patrick Frey's generous support


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

Artist file

Fabian Biasio * 1975 in Lucerne, lives in Lucerne

Through his regular presence, Fabian Biasio became a familiar figure to party members, from the party base to the mid-hierarchy members to the party ideologists and leaders in Zurich. He used this proximity to offer them to have their photograph taken at their own houses or flats. Bearing in mind a principle inherent to photographic portrait - any "taken" photograph leaves a symbolic emptiness - Fabian Biasio offered them as compensation for their "borrowed" faces a photographic print of the [...]

Through his regular presence, Fabian Biasio became a familiar figure to party members, from the party base to the mid-hierarchy members to the party ideologists and leaders in Zurich. He used this proximity to offer them to have their photograph taken at their own houses or flats. Bearing in mind a principle inherent to photographic portrait - any "taken" photograph leaves a symbolic emptiness - Fabian Biasio offered them as compensation for their "borrowed" faces a photographic print of their favourite Swiss landscape. The move was obvious: it goes without saying that while this action flattered an ideology that claims to represent the land, it also gives the floor to the represented person for a second time.

Fabian Biasio's work was documented in a book published by Edition Patrick Frey 1 featuring very discerning articles by Margrit Sprecher, some of which were published in the Swiss-German press of various political leanings: Wochenzeitung, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Weltwoche, Das Magazin.

1 Sprecher/Biasio, Die Mitte des Volkes, Zurich, Ed. Patrick Frey, 2007, p.5

http://www.biasio.com/

************************************************************************

Die Mitte des Volkes, texts by Margrit Sprecher, photographs by Fabian Biasio Ed.Patrick Frey , Zurich, 2007. 187 colour pages, German,1st edition, ISBN 978-3-905509-65-6.

Edition Patrick Frey, c / o Kein&Aber AG, Bäckerstrasse 52, 8026 Zurich. www.editionpatrickfrey.ch, mail@editionpatrickfrey.ch ************************************************************************

BLACK SHEEP AND DIRTY HANDS Jean-Pierre Greff, Director of Haute école d'art et de design - Genève (HEAD), will have the floor on 12th June at 6 p.m. at the Centre de la photographie within the framework of the seminar Visual Studies of HEAD's art/media department on the issue of two SPP posters of the national election campaign in the autumn of 2007.

The exhibition DIE MITTE DES VOLKES benefited from Patrick Frey's generous support


Exhibition view

Related content

Fabian Biasio
DIE MITTE DES VOLKES

22.05 — 17.08.2008

Fabian Biasio  a accompagné de 2002 à 2007, durant toute la période législative fédérale, lorsque Christophe Blocher siégait au Conseil Fédéral, les participants des grandes messes de l’Union Démocratique du Centre, avec ses fêtes patriotiques et ses réunions de parti. Le jeune photographe de presse – lauréat en mai 2008 du prix “Sonntags-Zeitung” à la “sélection suisse” des meilleurs travaux photographiques – a suivi les membres et sympathisants de l’UDC dans des salles polyvalentes, sur des sommets comme le Grütli ou le Säntis ou sur des bateaux de plaisance entre autres, le Flüelen.

Vernissage: 22.05.2008

Fabian Biasio, par sa présence régulière est devenu un familier des membres du parti, de sa base en passant par les cadres moyens jusqu'aux idéologues et aux chefs de file zürichois. Il a profité de cette proximité pour leur proposer de les photographier chez eux, dans leur maison ou appartement. Fabian Biasio, tenant compte d'un principe inhérent au portrait photographique - toute photographie étant "prise" laisse au moins un vide symbolique - leur proposait en contrepartie du faci [...]

Fabian Biasio, par sa présence régulière est devenu un familier des membres du parti, de sa base en passant par les cadres moyens jusqu'aux idéologues et aux chefs de file zürichois. Il a profité de cette proximité pour leur proposer de les photographier chez eux, dans leur maison ou appartement. Fabian Biasio, tenant compte d'un principe inhérent au portrait photographique - toute photographie étant "prise" laisse au moins un vide symbolique - leur proposait en contrepartie du faciès "prêté", un tirage photographique représentant leur paysage suisse préféré. L'évidence est visible: il va de soi que tout en flattant par cet acte une idéologie se réclamant du terroir, il fait s'exprimer une deuxième fois la personne représentée.

Le travail de Fabian Biasio a été documenté dans un livre paru à l'automne 2007 à l'Edition Patrick Frey,1 accompagné d'articles forts pertinents de Margrit Sprecher, dont certains sont parus dans la presse Suisse alémanique toutes tendances politiques confondues: Wochenzeitung, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Weltwoche, Das magazin.

1 Sprecher/Biasio, Die Mitte des Volkes, Zürich, Ed. Patrick Frey, 2007, p.5

http://www.biasio.com/

************************************************************************

Die Mitte des Volkes, texte de Margrit Sprecher, photographies de Fabian Biasio Ed. Patrick Frey, Zürich, 2007. 187 pages couleur, allemand, premier tirage, ISBN 978-3-905509-65-6

Edition Patrick Frey, c/o Kein & Aber AG, Bäckerstrasse 52, 8026 Zürich www.editionpatrickfrey.ch, mail@editionpatrickfrey.ch ************************************************************************

MOUTONS NOIRS ET MAINS SALES Jean-Pierre Greff, Directeur de l'HEAD Genève, fera une intervention le 12 juin à 18h00 au Centre de la photographie dans le cadre du séminaire Visual Studies du pôle art/média de l'HEAD au sujet de deux affiches pour les campagnes électorales de l'automne 2007.

L'exposition Die Mitte des Volkes a bénéficié d'un apport généreux de Patrick Frey

 


Soutiens

Avec le généreux soutien de(s) partenaire(s) suivant(s)

Fiche d'artiste

Fabian Biasio * 1975 à Lucerne, vit à Lucerne

Fabian Biasio, par sa présence régulière est devenu un familier des membres du parti, de sa base en passant par les cadres moyens jusqu'aux idéologues et aux chefs de file zürichois. Il a profité de cette proximité pour leur proposer de les photographier chez eux, dans leur maison ou appartement. Fabian Biasio, tenant compte d'un principe inhérent au portrait photographique - toute photographie étant "prise" laisse au moins un vide symbolique - leur proposait en contrepartie du faci [...]

Fabian Biasio, par sa présence régulière est devenu un familier des membres du parti, de sa base en passant par les cadres moyens jusqu'aux idéologues et aux chefs de file zürichois. Il a profité de cette proximité pour leur proposer de les photographier chez eux, dans leur maison ou appartement. Fabian Biasio, tenant compte d'un principe inhérent au portrait photographique - toute photographie étant "prise" laisse au moins un vide symbolique - leur proposait en contrepartie du faciès "prêté", un tirage photographique représentant leur paysage suisse préféré. L'évidence est visible: il va de soi que tout en flattant par cet acte une idéologie se réclamant du terroir, il fait s'exprimer une deuxième fois la personne représentée.

Le travail de Fabian Biasio a été documenté dans un livre paru à l'automne 2007 à l'Edition Patrick Frey,1 accompagné d'articles forts pertinents de Margrit Sprecher, dont certains sont parus dans la presse Suisse alémanique toutes tendances politiques confondues: Wochenzeitung, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Weltwoche, Das magazin.

1 Sprecher/Biasio, Die Mitte des Volkes, Zürich, Ed. Patrick Frey, 2007, p.5

http://www.biasio.com/

************************************************************************

Die Mitte des Volkes, texte de Margrit Sprecher, photographies de Fabian Biasio Ed. Patrick Frey, Zürich, 2007. 187 pages couleur, allemand, premier tirage, ISBN 978-3-905509-65-6

Edition Patrick Frey, c/o Kein & Aber AG, Bäckerstrasse 52, 8026 Zürich www.editionpatrickfrey.ch, mail@editionpatrickfrey.ch ************************************************************************

MOUTONS NOIRS ET MAINS SALES Jean-Pierre Greff, Directeur de l'HEAD Genève, fera une intervention le 12 juin à 18h00 au Centre de la photographie dans le cadre du séminaire Visual Studies du pôle art/média de l'HEAD au sujet de deux affiches pour les campagnes électorales de l'automne 2007.

L'exposition Die Mitte des Volkes a bénéficié d'un apport généreux de Patrick Frey

 


Vue d'exposition

En relation