CHRISTOPHE REY
D’UN TOURISTE

23.05 — 26.08.2018

The Centre de la photographie Genève is thrilled to present to you it’s next exposition from the Geneva born artist, Christophe Rey (*1967) who will be showcasing up to 450 photos.

Vernissage: 22.05.2018 18:00

Presentation of Christophe Rey’s literary work “Tap dance and ornithology” (2018) during the opening

Saturday 26.05.2018 : Night of the Museums
Two visits in the presence of Christophe Rey
19:00 and 20:00
Free admission for holders of the Night Pass to Museums

Wednesday 06.06.2018 : Conference
Marcia Arbex, INSTANT LITERATORY: MICHEL BUTOR AND PHOTOGRAPHY
19:00

The exhibition is supported by the FCAC
and Leica
leica-store-geneve.ch/de

These images will all be selected and extracted from a photographic corpus that includes part of a work in progress initiated by the artist in August 2008 during a trip in the southwestern United States. This corpus now includes about 11,400 so-called analogical photographs, taken in the United States, London (2011), in Northeast France (2011 and 2012), Kyoto and Osaka (2012), Naples (2013), in Venice (2013 and 2014), as well as during repeated stays between 2008 and 2017, in the Swiss Alps and in the South of France. Although the destinations are very different from each other, the photographs taken during these travels find a unit between them by using, each time, a device Leica M6 photographic (35mm lens), with Fujicolor film films Professional 400H thirty-six breaks. During these trips, Christophe's photographic concerns Rey have been recurrent, revolving around tourist places and activities : views of famous landscapes and cities / tourists on guided tours / tourists taking photographs / tourists eating in restaurants, etc. But, although still based on his starting point, Christophe Rey exceeded it in a number of shots. Thus the spectators will discover in the exhibition underlying forms of recurrence of the subject basic, such as: rituals of photographs of vernacular architecture / passers-by on sidewalks / shops / garbage / streets, roads and paths / cars on the road / people crossing pedestrian crossings / isolated objects on floor surfaces / trees / flowers in bouquets / sculptures, figures of characters more or less frightening / posts / drawings formed by natural elements or cultural / textual inscriptions / and also: friends, friends of the photographer. Unlike a Martin Parr, Christophe Rey's work is neither cynical nor ironic like a Nicolas Faure. Christophe Rey does not consider himself out of the picture of the tourism industry, one of the world's largest industries (10% of the World GDP) with its 1260 billion in turnover and its billions of passengers, but as part of it.

The exhibition will be presented in the form of a frieze of photographic prints 13 x 18 cm format (alternately either vertical or horizontal views), unfolding next to each other on a horizontal line at eye level, along the entire exhibition walls of the photography (77 meters), thus strictly following the architecture of the place. From this way, an a priori decorative play effect will occur, a play that will be found in the recurrence of "motives" and their various deployments in the rooms.


Sponsors

With the generous support of the following partner(s)

Artist file

Christophe Rey * 1967 in Genève, lives in Genève

These images will all be selected and extracted from a photographic corpus that includes part of a work in progress initiated by the artist in August 2008 during a trip in the southwestern United States. This corpus now includes about 11,400 so-called analogical photographs, taken in the United States, London (2011), in Northeast France (2011 and 2012), Kyoto and Osaka (2012), Naples (2013), in Venice (2013 and 2014), as well as during repeated stays between 2008 and 2017, in the Swiss Alps [...]

These images will all be selected and extracted from a photographic corpus that includes part of a work in progress initiated by the artist in August 2008 during a trip in the southwestern United States. This corpus now includes about 11,400 so-called analogical photographs, taken in the United States, London (2011), in Northeast France (2011 and 2012), Kyoto and Osaka (2012), Naples (2013), in Venice (2013 and 2014), as well as during repeated stays between 2008 and 2017, in the Swiss Alps and in the South of France. Although the destinations are very different from each other, the photographs taken during these travels find a unit between them by using, each time, a device Leica M6 photographic (35mm lens), with Fujicolor film films Professional 400H thirty-six breaks. During these trips, Christophe's photographic concerns Rey have been recurrent, revolving around tourist places and activities : views of famous landscapes and cities / tourists on guided tours / tourists taking photographs / tourists eating in restaurants, etc. But, although still based on his starting point, Christophe Rey exceeded it in a number of shots. Thus the spectators will discover in the exhibition underlying forms of recurrence of the subject basic, such as: rituals of photographs of vernacular architecture / passers-by on sidewalks / shops / garbage / streets, roads and paths / cars on the road / people crossing pedestrian crossings / isolated objects on floor surfaces / trees / flowers in bouquets / sculptures, figures of characters more or less frightening / posts / drawings formed by natural elements or cultural / textual inscriptions / and also: friends, friends of the photographer. Unlike a Martin Parr, Christophe Rey's work is neither cynical nor ironic like a Nicolas Faure. Christophe Rey does not consider himself out of the picture of the tourism industry, one of the world's largest industries (10% of the World GDP) with its 1260 billion in turnover and its billions of passengers, but as part of it.

The exhibition will be presented in the form of a frieze of photographic prints 13 x 18 cm format (alternately either vertical or horizontal views), unfolding next to each other on a horizontal line at eye level, along the entire exhibition walls of the photography (77 meters), thus strictly following the architecture of the place. From this way, an a priori decorative play effect will occur, a play that will be found in the recurrence of "motives" and their various deployments in the rooms.


Exhibition view

Related content

CHRISTOPHE REY
D’UN TOURISTE

23.05 — 26.08.2018

Le Centre de la photographie Genève est heureux de présenter sa prochaine exposition de l’artiste genevois Christophe Rey (*1967) qui présentera près de 450 photographies.

Vernissage: 22.05.2018 18:00

Présentation du travail littéraire de Christophe Rey “Claquettes et ornithologie” (2018) lors du vernissage

Samedi 26.05.2018 : Nuit des Musées
Deux visites en présence de Christophe Rey
19:00 et 20:00
Entrée gratuite pour les détenteurs du pass Nuit des Musées

Mecredi 06.06.2018 : Conférence
Marcia Arbex, INSTANTANÉS LITTÉRAIRES : MICHEL BUTOR ET LA PHOTOGRAPHIE
19:00

L’exposition est soutenue par le FCAC
et Leica
leica-store-geneve.ch/de

Ces images seront toutes choisies et extraites d’un corpus photographique faisant partie d’un work in progress initié par l’artiste en août 2008 lors d’un voyage dans le Sud-Ouest des États-Unis. Ce corpus compte aujourd’hui environ 11’400 photographies dites analogiques, prises aux États-Unis, à Londres (2011), dans le Nord-est de la France (2011 et 2012), à Kyoto et Osaka (2012), à Naples (2013), à Venise (2013 et 2014), ainsi qu’à l’occasion de séjours répétés [...]

Ces images seront toutes choisies et extraites d’un corpus photographique faisant partie d’un work in progress initié par l’artiste en août 2008 lors d’un voyage dans le Sud-Ouest des États-Unis. Ce corpus compte aujourd’hui environ 11’400 photographies dites analogiques, prises aux États-Unis, à Londres (2011), dans le Nord-est de la France (2011 et 2012), à Kyoto et Osaka (2012), à Naples (2013), à Venise (2013 et 2014), ainsi qu’à l’occasion de séjours répétés, entre 2008 et 2017, dans les Alpes suisses et dans le Sud de la France. Bien que les destinations soient très différentes les unes des autres, les photographies prises durant ces voyages trouvent entre elles une unité par l’emploi, à chaque fois, d’un appareil photographique Leica M6 (objectif 35mm), avec des films de pellicule Fujicolor Professional 400H trente-six pauses. Au cours de ces voyages, les préoccupations photographiques de Christophe Rey ont été récurrentes, tournant autour des lieux et des activités touristiques : vues de paysages et villes célèbres / touristes dans des visites guidées / touristes prenant des photographies / touristes mangeant dans des restaurants, etc. Mais, bien que s’appuyant toujours sur son postulat de départ, Christophe Rey l’outrepassait dans un certain nombre de prises de vues. Ainsi les spectateurs découvriront dans l’exposition des formes de récurrence sous-jacentes au sujet de base, comme : des ritournelles de photographies d’architecture vernaculaire / des passants sur des trottoirs / magasins / déchets / rues, routes et chemins / voitures en route / gens qui traversent des passages piétons / objets isolés sur des surfaces au sol / arbres / fleurs en bouquets / sculptures, figures de personnages plus ou moins effrayants / poteaux / dessins formés par des éléments naturels ou culturels / inscriptions textuelles / et aussi : amis, amies du photographe. A l’inverse d’un Martin Parr le travail de Christophe Rey n’a rien de cynique, ni d’ironique à l’instar d’un Nicolas Faure. Christophe Rey ne se considère pas hors de l’industrie du tourisme, l’une des plus grandes industries mondiales (10 % du PIB mondial) avec ses 1260 milliards de chiffre d’affaires et ses milliards de voyageurs, mais bien faisant partie d’elle.

L’exposition se présentera sous la forme d’une frise de tirages photographiques de format 13 x 18 cm (alternativement soit des vues verticales, soit des vues horizontales), se déployant les unes à côté des autres sur une ligne horizontale à hauteur des yeux, au long de l’entièreté des murs d’exposition du Centre de la photographie (77 mètres), épousant ainsi strictement l’architecture des lieux. De cette façon se produira un effet a priori de jeu décoratif, jeu que l’on retrouvera dans la récurrence des « motifs » et leurs divers déploiements dans les salles.


Soutiens

Avec le généreux soutien de(s) partenaire(s) suivant(s)

Fiche d'artiste

Christophe Rey * 1967 à Genève, vit à Genève

Ces images seront toutes choisies et extraites d’un corpus photographique faisant partie d’un work in progress initié par l’artiste en août 2008 lors d’un voyage dans le Sud-Ouest des États-Unis. Ce corpus compte aujourd’hui environ 11’400 photographies dites analogiques, prises aux États-Unis, à Londres (2011), dans le Nord-est de la France (2011 et 2012), à Kyoto et Osaka (2012), à Naples (2013), à Venise (2013 et 2014), ainsi qu’à l’occasion de séjours répétés [...]

Ces images seront toutes choisies et extraites d’un corpus photographique faisant partie d’un work in progress initié par l’artiste en août 2008 lors d’un voyage dans le Sud-Ouest des États-Unis. Ce corpus compte aujourd’hui environ 11’400 photographies dites analogiques, prises aux États-Unis, à Londres (2011), dans le Nord-est de la France (2011 et 2012), à Kyoto et Osaka (2012), à Naples (2013), à Venise (2013 et 2014), ainsi qu’à l’occasion de séjours répétés, entre 2008 et 2017, dans les Alpes suisses et dans le Sud de la France. Bien que les destinations soient très différentes les unes des autres, les photographies prises durant ces voyages trouvent entre elles une unité par l’emploi, à chaque fois, d’un appareil photographique Leica M6 (objectif 35mm), avec des films de pellicule Fujicolor Professional 400H trente-six pauses. Au cours de ces voyages, les préoccupations photographiques de Christophe Rey ont été récurrentes, tournant autour des lieux et des activités touristiques : vues de paysages et villes célèbres / touristes dans des visites guidées / touristes prenant des photographies / touristes mangeant dans des restaurants, etc. Mais, bien que s’appuyant toujours sur son postulat de départ, Christophe Rey l’outrepassait dans un certain nombre de prises de vues. Ainsi les spectateurs découvriront dans l’exposition des formes de récurrence sous-jacentes au sujet de base, comme : des ritournelles de photographies d’architecture vernaculaire / des passants sur des trottoirs / magasins / déchets / rues, routes et chemins / voitures en route / gens qui traversent des passages piétons / objets isolés sur des surfaces au sol / arbres / fleurs en bouquets / sculptures, figures de personnages plus ou moins effrayants / poteaux / dessins formés par des éléments naturels ou culturels / inscriptions textuelles / et aussi : amis, amies du photographe. A l’inverse d’un Martin Parr le travail de Christophe Rey n’a rien de cynique, ni d’ironique à l’instar d’un Nicolas Faure. Christophe Rey ne se considère pas hors de l’industrie du tourisme, l’une des plus grandes industries mondiales (10 % du PIB mondial) avec ses 1260 milliards de chiffre d’affaires et ses milliards de voyageurs, mais bien faisant partie d’elle.

L’exposition se présentera sous la forme d’une frise de tirages photographiques de format 13 x 18 cm (alternativement soit des vues verticales, soit des vues horizontales), se déployant les unes à côté des autres sur une ligne horizontale à hauteur des yeux, au long de l’entièreté des murs d’exposition du Centre de la photographie (77 mètres), épousant ainsi strictement l’architecture des lieux. De cette façon se produira un effet a priori de jeu décoratif, jeu que l’on retrouvera dans la récurrence des « motifs » et leurs divers déploiements dans les salles.

En relation