Artist file


Maxime Guyon * 1990 in France, lives in Lausanne

Maxime Guyon pays close attention to the evolution, dematerialisation and commercial purpose of the photographic medium, and in his Technological Exaptation series reveals an aesthetic individual to the new technologies and industrial development. Their biomimetic, extra-terrestrial and mechanical outbursts reflect an industrial evolution focused on cybernetics, performance, seduction and the seizing of power over the human body. For Maxime Guyon, the digital corruption at the hea [...]

Maxime Guyon pays close attention to the evolution, dematerialisation and commercial purpose of the photographic medium, and in his Technological Exaptation series reveals an aesthetic individual to the new technologies and industrial development. Their biomimetic, extra-terrestrial and mechanical outbursts reflect an industrial evolution focused on cybernetics, performance, seduction and the seizing of power over the human body. For Maxime Guyon, the digital corruption at the heart of his work has not only stimulated the artistic creation of the photographic work, it has also liberated the material depiction of the image. In other words, artists are increasingly experiencing new dimensions of installations, sometimes even freeing the image from its traditional frame and strict hanging process, exploiting the image in a physical and three-dimensional way. In the biological field, the term exaptation describes an opportunistic selective adaptation, favouring characteristics that are useful for a new purpose for which they had not initially been selected. Adapted to the short history of photography, it is here a question of considering how it has developed since the Internet, and the increasingly dominant place the image occupies as the object most widely consumed by earth-dwellers on a daily basis. Thinking about how machines and algorithms today participate in the distribution and production of the images on the Internet, one wonders if that phenomenon does not imply a redefinition of how human beings are and how they see themselves in the world.

Maxime Guyon (*1990, France, lives and works in Lausanne). His approach, straddled between commercial commissions, artistic projects and research, is representative of a generation of photographers who occupy territories opened up by the malleability of the photographic medium. A graduate of the ECAL in Lausanne, he currently holds the post of assistant to the Master of Photography and participates actively in the Augmented Photography research programme run by Milo Keller. He took part in the following Foam Talents exhibitions: Beaconsfield Gallery, Vauxhall, London; Red Hook Labs, Brooklyn; Unseen Festival, Amsterdam; and in the Swiss Design Awards, Basel, Festival Circulation, Paris, and Austin Center for Photography.

Photography : Maxime Guyon, tiré de la série Technological Exaptation, 2016

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Maxime Guyon * 1990 à France, vit à Lausanne

Très attentif aux évolutions, à la dématérialisation et à la fonction marchande du médium photographique, Maxime Guyon révèle dans sa série Technological Exaptation, une esthétique propre aux nouvelles technologies et au développement industriel. Leurs éclats biomimétiques, extra-terrestres et machiniques, reflètent une évolution industrielle axée sur la cybernétique, la performance, la séduction et la prise de pouvoir sur le corps humain. Pour Maxime Guyon, l [...]

Très attentif aux évolutions, à la dématérialisation et à la fonction marchande du médium photographique, Maxime Guyon révèle dans sa série Technological Exaptation, une esthétique propre aux nouvelles technologies et au développement industriel. Leurs éclats biomimétiques, extra-terrestres et machiniques, reflètent une évolution industrielle axée sur la cybernétique, la performance, la séduction et la prise de pouvoir sur le corps humain. Pour Maxime Guyon, l’altération digitale au cœur de son travail, n’a pas seulement stimulé la création plastique de l’œuvre photographique, elle a aussi libéré la représentation matérielle de l’image. En d’autres termes, les artistes expérimentent de plus en plus de nouvelles dimensions d’installations, parfois même en libérant l’image de son classique cadre et de son accrochage strict en exploitant celle-ci de manière physique et tridimensionnelle. Dans le domaine de la biologique, le terme exaptation décrit une adaptation sélective opportuniste, privilégiant des caractères qui sont utiles à une nouvelle fonction, pour laquelle ils n’avaient pas été initialement sélectionnés. Adapté à la jeune histoire de la photographie, il s’agit ici de considérer comment elle a évolué depuis l’internet, et la place de plus en plus dominante que l’image tient en tant qu’objet le plus consommé quotidiennement par les terriens. En réfléchissant à comment des machines et des algorithmes participent aujourd’hui à la diffusion et la production des images sur l’internet, on se demande si ce phénomène ne participe à une redéfinition de comment l’homme est et se voit dans le monde.

Maxime Guyon (*1990, France, vit et travaille à Lausanne). Sa démarche, à mi-chemin entre mandats commerciaux, projets artistiques et recherche, est représentative d’une génération de photographes qui occupent les territoires ouverts par la malléabilité du médium photographique. Diplômé de l’ECAL à Lausanne, il y occupe actuellement le poste d’assistant du Master Photographie et participe activement au programme de recherche Augmented Photography dirigé par Milo Keller. Il a participé aux expositions des Foam Talents; Beaconsfield Gallery Vauxhall, Londres; Red Hook Labs, Brooklyn; Unseen Festival, Amsterdam; ou encore Swiss Design Awards, Bâle; Festival Circulation, Paris et Austin Center for Photography.

 

Photographie : Maxime Guyon, tiré de la série Technological Exaptation, 2016

En relation