Artist file


Lola Gonzàlez * 1988 in Angoulême, lives in Paris

A myth relates that when chaos spreads through the world, at certain critical moments of history, the dead awaken. Here two journalists set out in search of these wandering souls and try to alert the population to an imminent, poorly identified danger that seems to affect only the young and to be spread through water sources. Confronted with this disturbing situation, beliefs are requestioned. The film Les courants vagabonds draws on different genres, from docufiction to musical c [...]

A myth relates that when chaos spreads through the world, at certain critical moments of history, the dead awaken. Here two journalists set out in search of these wandering souls and try to alert the population to an imminent, poorly identified danger that seems to affect only the young and to be spread through water sources. Confronted with this disturbing situation, beliefs are requestioned. The film Les courants vagabonds draws on different genres, from docufiction to musical comedy and dance by way of fantastic second-rate stories. The iconography of a rebellious people tied to aquatic territory as a place of liberation but also of sacrifice, keeps recurring in Lola Gonzàles’s output. Aside from the great contemplative pleasure that can be derived from evoking it, the transposed continent of water is a place where goods and human beings circulate, and has been a power issue since well before our own era. Stories and myths, like the one offered here by the artist, run through literature like water channels, and also serve as a warning and inducement code in space and time.

Lola Gonzàlez (*1988, Angoulême, lives and works in Paris). Her videos and performances come to grips with reality and offer echoes of the events and prevailing climate of our epoch. She has very close bonds with her actors who are also her friends, members of her family. Together they form a troupe who enact the dramas, the alarms and joys of the things that make up life. She graduated from the ENSBA Lyon in 2013 with special commendation from the jury. She was awarded the Prix Meurice for contemporary art in 2016. Her films have been shown at the Palais de Tokyo where she was an artist in residence in 2016/2017; at MAC Lyon, Le Crédac d’Ivry and currently at the exhibition of the 19th Prix Fondation d’Entreprise Ricard in Paris. Lola Gonzàlez is represented by the Galerie Marcelle Alix in Paris.

 

Photography : Lola Gonzàlez, extrait du film Les courants vagabonds, 17 minutes, vidéo couleur HD, stéréo, 2017

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


Lola Gonzàlez * 1988 à Angoulême, vit à Paris

Un mythe raconte que lorsque le chaos se répand dans le monde, à certains moments clés de l’histoire, les morts se réveillent. Ici, deux journalistes partent à la recherche de ces âmes errantes et tentent d’informer la population d’un danger imminent et mal identifié qui semble ne toucher que les jeunes et se propager à travers les sources d’eau. Face à cette situation inquiétante, les croyances sont remises en question. Le film Les courants vagabonds puise sa so [...]

Un mythe raconte que lorsque le chaos se répand dans le monde, à certains moments clés de l’histoire, les morts se réveillent. Ici, deux journalistes partent à la recherche de ces âmes errantes et tentent d’informer la population d’un danger imminent et mal identifié qui semble ne toucher que les jeunes et se propager à travers les sources d’eau. Face à cette situation inquiétante, les croyances sont remises en question. Le film Les courants vagabonds puise sa source dans différents genres, de la docufiction à la comédie musicale, la danse en passant par le récit fantastique de série B. L’iconographie d’un peuple insoumis lié au territoire aquatique comme espace de libération mais aussi de sacrifice, revient de manière récurrente dans la production de Lola Gonzàles. Au delà du grand plaisir contemplatif que peut procurer son évocation, le continent inversé de l’eau est un espace de circulation de la marchandise, des êtres humains et un enjeu de pouvoir depuis bien avant notre ère. Les histoires et les mythes, tel celui proposé ici par l’artiste, viennent irriguer la littérature, et servent aussi comme code de mise en garde et d’incitation dans l’espace et le temps.

Lola Gonzàlez (*1988, Angoulême, vit et travaille à Paris). Ses vidéos et performances sont en prises avec le réel et offrent des échos des évènements et du climat ambiant de notre époque. Elle entretient une profonde complicité avec ses acteurs qui sont aussi ses amis, les membres de sa famille. Tous, ils forment une bande qui joue les drames, les effrois et les joies des choses de la vie. Elle est diplômée de l’ENSBA Lyon en 2013 avec les félicitations du jury. Elle est lauréate du Prix Meurice pour l’art contemporain en 2016. Ses films ont été présentés au Palais de Tokyo où elle était résidente en 2016/2017; MAC Lyon; Le Crédac d’Ivry et actuellement à l’exposition du 19e Prix Fondation d’Entreprise Ricard à Paris. Lola Gonzalès est représenté par la Galerie Marcelle Alix à Paris.

 

Photographie : Lola Gonzàlez, extrait du film Les courants vagabonds, 17 minutes, vidéo couleur HD, stéréo, 2017

En relation