Artist file


DISCIPULA * 2013 in Milan, lives in Milan

Since the arrival of Big Data, the limitless storehouse of neoliberal globalisation, it is our very psyche that is being handed over as merchandise. How Things Dream is a current project that imagines the possible consequences of the ongoing extension of the links between technology, neoliberalism, power and control. With the creation of AURA, an imaginary technological enterprise, the Discipula collective is installing the communication apparatus of a private body providing diver [...]

Since the arrival of Big Data, the limitless storehouse of neoliberal globalisation, it is our very psyche that is being handed over as merchandise. How Things Dream is a current project that imagines the possible consequences of the ongoing extension of the links between technology, neoliberalism, power and control. With the creation of AURA, an imaginary technological enterprise, the Discipula collective is installing the communication apparatus of a private body providing diversified and wide-ranging services. AURA supplies essential services in fields such as home automation, health, security, education and government, and soon the visualisation of our own dreams. If we scrutinise Google’s investment plans: Artificial Intelligence / business cloud / consumer interfaces / virtual and augmented reality / telecommunications and energy / transport and logistics / health and FinTech, it turns out that in noting the closeness of the worst case scenario we see it is already happening in actual reality. Discipula draws a potential post-democratic world, characterised by the irrevocable imposition of a global regime focused on business in which surveillance and control are fully accepted and integrated into the convenience of everyday life.

Discipula is a research collective based in Milan that has been active since 2013 in the fields of image and visual culture. Its founders, M. F. G. Paltrinieri, Mirko Smerdel and Tommaso Tanini, share the attributes of psychologist, artist and photographer. Most of their projects emerge from the appropriation, post-production and analysis of images captured from various production and consumption flows. They adopt various narrative strategies and explore the interleaving of fact and fiction. Being involved in the design, self-publication and distribution of their books and printed objects is a way of taking their projects outside conventional institutional channels and questioning the distinction between creation and production. Their works have been the subject of solo exhibitions in 2015 at the Format Festival, Derby, UK; Spazio Labò, Bologna; Kunsthalle Mélycsarnok, Budapest; and RED Gallery, London. They also participate in many festivals such as JimeiXArles, Xiamen; Unseen Photo Festival Amsterdam; Krakow Photomonth in 2016. Discipula is represented by the MLZ Art Dep Galerie in Trieste.

Photography : Discipula, How Things Dream

Related content

Fiche d'artiste


DISCIPULA * 2013 à Milan, vit à Milan

Depuis l’avènement du Big Data, grenier infini de la globalisation néolibérale, c’est notre psyché même qui est livrée comme marchandise. How Things Dream est un projet en cours qui imagine les conséquences possibles de l’extension continue des liens entre technologie, néolibéralisme, pouvoir et contrôle. Avec la création d’AURA, une entreprise technologique imaginaire, le collectif Discipula met en place l’appareil de communication d’une entité privée aux [...]

Depuis l’avènement du Big Data, grenier infini de la globalisation néolibérale, c’est notre psyché même qui est livrée comme marchandise. How Things Dream est un projet en cours qui imagine les conséquences possibles de l’extension continue des liens entre technologie, néolibéralisme, pouvoir et contrôle. Avec la création d’AURA, une entreprise technologique imaginaire, le collectif Discipula met en place l’appareil de communication d’une entité privée aux services diversifiés et tentaculaires. AURA fournit des services essentiels dans des domaines tels que la domotique, la santé, la sécurité, l’éducation et la gouvernance, et bientôt la visualisation de vos propres rêves. En scrutant les plans d’investissements de Google : Intelligence artificielle / cloud d’entreprise / interfaces consommateur / réalité virtuelle et augmentée / télécommunications et énergie / transport et logistique / santé et fintech… La constatation de la proximité du worst case scenario, se révèle dans le réel même. Discipula dessine un monde post-démocratique potentiel, caractérisé par l’imposition définitive d’un régime global axé sur l’entreprise dans lequel, la surveillance et le contrôle sont pleinement acceptés et intégrés dans la commodité de la vie quotidienne.

Discipula est un collectif de recherche actif depuis 2013 dans les domaines de l’image et de la culture visuelle, basé à Milan. Les fondateurs ; MFG Paltrinieri, Mirko Smerdel et Tommaso Tanini sont réciproquement psychologue, artiste et photographe. La majorité de leurs projets émergent de l’appropriation, la post production et l’analyse d’images capturées dans différents flux de production et de consommation. Ils adoptent différentes stratégies narratives et explorent les entrelacements entre les faits et la fiction. S’impliquer dans le design, l’auto-publication et la distribution de leurs livres et objets imprimés, est une façon d’amener leurs projets hors des terrains institutionnels conventionnels et de questionner la distinction entre création et production. Leurs travaux ont fait l’objet d’expositions solos en 2015 au Format Festival, Derby, UK; Spazio Labò, Bologne; Kunsthalle Mélycsarnok, Budapest; RED Gallery, Londres.

Ils participent aussi à de nombreux festivals tels que JimeiXArles, Xiamen; Unseen Photo Festival Amsterdam; Krakow Photomonth en 2016. Discipula est représenté par la MLZ Art Dep Galerie à Trieste.

 

Photographie : Discipula, How Things Dream

En relation